Work Text:
i can’t believe it. i just can’t. my horrible friends literally dragged me to this stupid club and now they’ve left me completely alone, just when i need them? i sigh as i look at myself in the mirror. my hair is gross and weirdly shiny, there’s makeup everywhere and some mascara running down my face. i look awful. i quickly splash my face with cold water to at least make myself feel a bit better. the ugly blue bathroom door opens and for a moment you can hear an obnoxious pop song play. a group of pretty girls - the kind you would see on your pinterest page - walk into the shitty bathroom, all incredibly tipsy. as i pass them on my way out, i find myself wondering if that’s how they thought of me.
i need to find my stupid friends.
some time later i’m sitting in a booth with coke-snoring strangers who don’t even give a single shit about me. it sucks but at least it’s better than being completely alone. all i can tell is that somehow i’ve ended up piss drunk again. my body feels light and flowy, which is honestly all i need on this horrible night. some part of my consciousness is telling me to go find my friends but i choose to ignore it for now and simply just chug down a shot made by some another pretty stranger. i don’t even know what time it is or where thor and bruce are. they're the asshole friends who left me alone in here. wait. weren’t i looking for them? where the fuck have they gone?
after wandering around for some time, trying to get through the mass of people who stand just way too close to each other, i decide to just stop. i can’t exactly feel my legs and i might have pissed my pants, i’m not too sure. i just miss my friends. how could they leave me all alone? this is literally the first night i’ve gone out with them after my breakup with that shithead james. i thought they’d be here for me. why does everyone hate me??? i sigh, feeling hopeless. i’m still very much drunk and my whole body feels like it stings and it’s hot and sweaty but i don’t even care at this point, at least i’m still alive and haven't passed out (yet). oh, shit! what if thor and bruce already left the club? no, they would’ve left a message. oh, yeah! i have a phone, i could just check. why didn’t i already do that? am i really that stupid? well i know the answer for that. i take my phone out of my pocket and begin scrolling through my notifications but just when i see bruce’s name pop up and i start to click it, i pump into someone which causes my phone to fall down with a loud thump. “fuck!” i can barely yell, the club music playing loudly over us. i try to look at the stranger to tell them they’ve most likely broken my phone and have to pay for a new one but the moment my eyes land on their face, i’m gone.
the stranger is incredibly gorgeous, with beautiful big hazel eyes, long black hair and funny fork shaped earrings. she looks perfect. i immediately get anxious about my own appearance as i remember the mirror reflection from earlier in the bathroom. ugh, how is she so pretty? that is so unfair! she looks at me for a second before picking up my phone - my phone, fuck! - and hands it to me with a shy smile. “i hope it’s not broken,” she speaks and fuck, the stranger’s voice is even prettier than her looks. it’s raspy and sweet like honey, making me lose my balance so that i almost fall on her. “you’re really out of it!” she giggles, holding my elbows, trying to help me balance. my body is tingling and hot where she touched it and i can’t stop staring at her gorgeous face. “you’re really pretty,” i manage to mumble, probably not even loud enough for her to hear. oh, really?? i could've said literally anything else. anything!! like a simple hello??? i cannot believe this! but then the attractive stranger laughs, a beautiful sound that makes me smile along. fuck, i think i’m in love. she shakes her head, biting her lip and yeah, i’m definitely in love. i will marry this woman.
oh god, i don’t even know if she’s into women. what if i’m being a creep?
the pretty stranger adjusts her hair and takes out her phone to look at something. she furrows her brow in confusion but looks up then, sliding her mobile into the back pocket of her jeans. “well… thank you, i guess? are you alone here?’’ she asks and shit, my friends! where the fuck are they? i can’t remember. “i think i’ve lost my friends,” i say. i notice that she’s holding me by my elbows again and that makes me lightheaded. i look up at her face, only to find her already watching me and that makes my entire body blush. it’s so hot in here, i need to get out before i actually pass out. and it doesn’t help me that this stunning stranger is touching me and looking at me with her big, insanely gorgeous eyes. “can we go outside?” i ask at the same time that she asks me for my name.
''oh, shit, yeah, sorry. i’m val,’’ i answer, realizing we don’t even know each other names yet but here i was already planning our wedding. the stranger smirks, introducing herself: ''i’m sif. lovely to meet you, val.’’ she doesn’t give me a chance to react, already grabbing my hand and walking us out of the stinky club. a huge wave of cold air hits me in the face and i feel like i can finally breathe again. we sit on the sidewalk and even though it’s cold, it’s incredibly refreshing and i love it. she takes my hand and i’m surprised by how warm and soft it is. she smiles at me and it makes me blush again. i think i’m still going to marry her.
“so, val, i’m sif and i want you to tell me when was the last time you saw your friends and what are their names, alright?” she speaks in a low voice, mimicking stereotypical police officers in old british shows and i burst out laughing. “this sounds like an investigation,” i giggle more. sif laughs too, shaking her head slightly. “it is an investigation! now, speak.” so i tell her that i last saw them hours ago and that they’re thor and bruce, my two asshole friends who left me alone with a bunch of strangers in a smelly club after they promised to keep an eye on me. “i think i know thor, he's pretty known in here. could you call your friends? maybe they left you a message?” she suggests and i nod. ''that’s what i was going to do before i got interrupted by a certain someone,’’ i chuckle. sif almost looks like she’s blushing and that makes my insides twirl. i take out my phone, type in the password and click on thor’s number until i think of a better idea. i slide my phone back into my pocket and sif stares at me confused, already wanting to say something when i interrupt: “how about we forget about my friends and focus on you and me? i'm really attracted to you.”
immediately after i have said that, i slap my hand over my mouth in shock and shake my head but the woman only laughs. “oh my god, no, that’s not what i meant. well. i mean- i’m still drunk!” she giggles, pushing her long hair behind her ears. “no, don't worry,'' she says, smiling warmly. ''actually, that's exactly what i was going to say.'' a wave of relief washes through me. yet, i'm confused. why would such an attractive woman like her be interested in a (piss drunk) person like me? she’s just joking, right? ''oh... that's a surprise,'' i manage to answer. sif raises an eyebrow, a puzzled expression plastered on her face. i don't want to upset her. i can’t even get a word out of me. what? this has to be a dream. maybe i already passed out. i’m probably at home, sound sleep and i’m going to open my eyes and wake up alone again. but when i open my eyes, sif is still there, looking at me fondly.
‘’this is crazy. can i kiss you?’’ i ask and fuck, i really need to keep my mouth closed.
i almost expect her to just stand up and leave but she nods quickly, a smirk on her pretty face. so, without thinking, i lean closer to her and just. kiss her. i've lost my asshole friends and i still have no idea where they are but at least i have a hot date who's literally kissing me right now and that’s all i need to survive the night.
