Actions

Work Header

r/AmItheAsshole: Am I the Asshole for Saving a Child’s Life?

Summary:

This story, told in 3 chapters, is based on the reddit subreddit r/AmItheAsshole. Some people in Alex Rider’s life answer the question: is Yassen Gregorovich the asshole?

Notes:

This started with a parody concept for a previous fanfic (no longer up on the Archive), and is now about a new situation between Alex and Yassen, featuring many other characters.

Whether or not you know the subreddit r/AmItheAsshole (where people go to post “totally real” situations from their life, and ask if they were the asshole while hoping for internet validation), we hope it’s a fun read.

Acronyms to know:
AITA: Am I the Asshole?
NTA: Not the Asshole
YTA: You’re the Asshole
ESH: Everyone Sucks Here
NAH: No Assholes Here
OP: Original Poster

Chapter 1: The Original Post: AITA for saving a child’s life?

Notes:

(See the end of the chapter for notes.)

Chapter Text

 

Header

AITA for saving a child’s life?

posted by : RhymesWithAssassin

Awards : 15 Silver Awards, 10 Gold Awards, 9 Platinum Awards, 24 Wholesome Awards, 7 Helpful Awards, 32 Hugz Awards, 

post karma :  14.8k upvotes

...

Hello, Reddit. I’m new to this website – one of the people working under me recommended it - but I’ll try to explain the situation and keep it short.

I (M36) am a self-employed contractor, currently heading a large, international operation financed by a well-off, self-made billionaire. My employer (M58) and I get along all right, especially as I’m a reliable employee. I’m doing my best to retire before 40.

Unfortunately, two Saturdays ago, there was a hitch in my operation. A teenager (M, possibly 15)(let’s call him Alex, it’s not like his cover aliases aren’t paper thin anyway) broke into a manufacturing warehouse that my boss owns. Obviously, he was caught. The guards who caught Alex brought him to my boss.

My boss had reasonable questions for the teenager. Alex, being a teenager, was surly and rude in his reply. Since it takes a village to raise a child, my boss taught Alex the important lesson that being impolite to adults is neither acceptable nor kind behavior, and then asked the questions again. Eventually, he got answers from him. Then my boss had to decide what to do with Alex.

I intervened before things got too bloody and explained to my boss that there were benefits to keeping the kid alive. As I mentioned, he’s a reasonable guy. It didn’t take long before we agreed that he would be more useful alive than dead. My boss ended up repurposing a broom closet so Alex could have a room to stay until we could convince his guardians to pay for the damage that Alex had done inside the manufacturing plant and procure his release.

Obviously, this act of mercy shows an admirable level of compassion. I thought everyone would agree.

But there’s a problem. It’s been two weeks, and I’ve been checking on Alex every other day, for a few minutes each time. At first, he was still acting obnoxious (engaging in teenage acts of rebellion like glaring and being sarcastic when reminded that he should be grateful to be alive, etc.) Then, a few days after he began his stay, he got into a physical fight (!!!) with one of my coworkers in a bid to get out of my boss’s compound. After that foolish escape attempt was thwarted, I took it upon myself to help him see the error of his ways. Since then, he’s been withdrawn. And when I calmly and kindly explained to him that he was alive because of my actions (an objectively good thing that he should be grateful for), he muttered angrily about how I was the worst person he knew. Even when I made him explain himself, he didn’t change his story! He said, “At least the others don’t even pretend to care,” and then wouldn’t speak to me again. I offered him some books to read and an extra blanket if he would just take back his words. Unbelievably, he only set his jaw and stared at the wall.

I have been trying not to think about this, as I know that I have done the right thing, but a guard who gives Alex food and takes him to the restroom said that Alex’s withdrawal into himself ‘worried’ him. We discussed the situation further, and this page was recommended to me.

I really don’t think I am the asshole, but Alex scoffed (under his breath, but barely) when I told him that I would be posting about our situation here. (I don’t know if it’s relevant, but he did say that I wouldn’t be the asshole if “I stopped hurting him, let him go, and then got out of his life forever.”)

So, Reddit, am I the asshole?

Edit 1: Some of you asked why I cared what a random teenage delinquent thought of me. I didn’t think it mattered, but I do know Alex. Some context: I’ve known him for about a year. I freely admit that he’s a lot of trouble. This is far from the first time he’s caused problems with my work. As a matter of fact, he interferes constantly, he was involved in the death of many of my previous employers, I was shot as a direct result of helping him one time before, and, also, several months back he held a gun to my head and threatened to kill me.

That said, I did know and train under his dad, so I do care about Alex because of that relationship. And I did re-orphan him due to situations involved in my contracting work, but in my defense, it wasn’t personal and his guardian was doing a pretty shitty job of caring for him at the time. I don’t feel guilty about that, but maybe I should?

It’s ridiculous, but I would like Alex to know that I care.

Edit 2: Yes, I did save him, despite not needing to. And yes, I did possibly strain things with my boss. I don’t want to hurt my career and retirement chances over a child, it’s true. Thank you all for agreeing that I’m NTA. It’s such a relief to hear. And for the few of you who are saying that YTA, I want you to read my first edit. Alex isn’t as harmless and innocent as you’re making him out to be! He told me yesterday, after I gave him a blanket out of pity after he’d apparently lost a night of sleep due to the lack of heating in his closet/cell/private suite, that he “didn’t want to be here” and “hadn’t been given any choice”, but I think that’s just him trying to rationalize his own poor decisions.

Edit 3: Wow. Ok. Some of you, I’m noticing, really do not like children. I don’t care much for children either, and I was even involved in work to rid the United Kingdom of some teenage schoolchildren a year ago (again, Alex ruined that), but there’s a limit. Teenagers are not inherently evil just for existing. No, they’re inherently evil for not listening to your advice to run away from their facsimile of a normal life and take advantage of the employment opportunities you generously offered them while dying. (That wasn’t hyperbole, by the way. I really was dying.)

Final edit: Thanks for all your advice, Reddit. The situation seems to have resolved itself. Alex escaped last week while I was away to take care of some competition. I have now left my employer rather permanently, and absconded with several million of his assets. I will deal with things as they come.

There is one small complication. Alex contacted me this morning (am not sure how he found my unlisted and untraceable number) and asked for help getting away from his own employers. I’m not sure that I should. He says I owe him…but if Reddit has taught me anything, it’s that no one owes anyone anything. It’s tough.

I’ll make an update post if anything new happens.

...

Sorted by: Oldest Comment

...

theGrayMan [13.9k] MULTIPLE SILVER AWARDS: NTA, but Alex sure is. He shows up to your workplace, then expects you to bend over backwards to accommodate him? Who does he think he is?

---Reply: RhymesWithAssassin [5.0k]: It’s a bit complicated. We do know each other.

-----Reply: FriendlyEnough [6.3k]: He’s gaslighting you. He doesn’t need your help, or charity. Focus on yourself and your goals. 

-------Reply: HowlsAtMoonSAS [2.2k]: Yep. The kid’s definitely gaslighting you. He broke into your workplace and has no one to blame for his stupid actions besides himself. Play stupid games, win stupid prizes



SoHotItsIlleagle [-10]: fake. i’ve heard better lies from my 5 year old sister

---Reply: FoxyAgent [6]: I don’t know, OP has the sort of self-assured air of someone who would never believe they were wrong. Might be real.



walker [4.3k]: What the hell! You saved his life. Of course you’re nta. I don’t even know why you’re listening to him.

---Reply: RhymesWithAssassin [4.1k]: Thank you. I do care about him, which is why I saved his life. I’ll add an edit with additional information.

-----Reply: henchman201 [2.2k]: just read the edit. Alex is a piece of work. yeah op you’re definitely NTA

-------Reply: don’t_mess_with_the_land_down_under [908]: it’s ridiculous - op is so obviously nta. getting real sick of these validation posts



AKABlowntoPieces [765]: Info: where are Alex’s parents? Why is any of this your problem?

---Reply: RhymesWithAssassin [344]: His parents aren’t in the picture. He lived with an uncle until recently. Now he has new guardians, and they want him to start to learn independence and show work ethic.

-----Reply: AKABlowntoPieces [220]: Fair. Fifteen’s old enough to learn money management

-------Reply: RhymesWithAssassin [298]: I’ve never asked if he’s getting paid. But it’s alright even if he isn’t. When I was about his age, I worked for no pay. It made me who I am today.



 StarsAndSpiesForever [2.5k]: ESH. You’re the asshole for not giving him a book to read in captivity, and he’s the asshole for everything else, since kids should listen to adults. Only your boss isn’t an asshole

---Reply: KnightInFreedomArmor [981]: I think NAH. Everyone’s just doing the best for themselves in this economy

-----Reply: HowlsAtMoonSAS [688]: the kid’s an asshole. Trust me. Crotchgoblins are a waste of space. Alex probably is entitled just like his breeder parents.



that_was_a_hisstake [132]: Retiring before 40 is a great goal. Check out r/financialindependence for another subreddit to help you in your goals.

---Reply: RhymesWithAssassin [89]: Thanks, I’ll check it out. Turns out computers have lots of good resources, and aren’t just devices used in revenge plots against the UK.

-----Reply: BeleagueredBestFriend [16]: wait what



BossLadyI6nCharge [3.2k]: NTA. Children are so needy these days. And Alex is lying, too, claiming he didn’t have a choice. 

---Reply:  HowlsAtMoonSAS [1.9k]: Yeah! OP, remember this: you’re aren’t legally obligated to help anyone. I would’ve done the same - saved the kid, but then focused on myself.

-----Reply: that_was_a_hisstake [1.7k]: Alex is definitely manipulative too

-------Reply: theGrayMan [1.1k]: also  it’s OP’s compound, OP’s rules



BeleagueredBestFriend [341]: yta mate what the fuck

---Reply: that_was_a_hisstake [578]: well yeah he’s the asshole, but it’s justified. Teenagers are so entitled these days



KnightInFreedomArmor [14.2k] WHOLESOME AWARD: I know this will get downvoted, but I think we should remember that Alex is only around 15. Teenagers mess up, and do silly things sometimes. Have some sympathy for him OP - give him the blanket. And maybe pat his head and tell him you care. Edit: forgot to say, op’s not an asshole. Thanks for the award! 

---Reply: useless_comment_bot [12.3k] GOLD AWARD: THIS!  

-----Reply: RhymesWithAssassin [14.8k]WHOLESOME AWARD x4: I gave him the blanket after he couldn’t sleep due to cold temperatures at night (put that in an edit). I don’t think I need to tell him that I care, though. He knows I do - I saved his life, after all.



 JustAnotherJohn [4.1k] GOLD AWARD: obvious troll. Who would even use a child for intelligence services? Not that anyone said, that of course. But it’s not legal. Mods, take this down.

---Reply: FriendlyEnough [12]: this subreddit’s mods are so lazy



random_redditor_420 [1.2k]: is there an update for this?



 chelsea_fan14 [7]: this is unbelievable. Tom told me this sounded like something from my life. And “male possibly 15”? You don’t know my age? I can’t even be bothered to be surprised. Yassen, you absolute psychopath, you absolutely owe me. YTA

...

Notes:

Rejected Reddit usernames for Yassen: YaneyFanNo1, A$$a$$insRMe, and VfQas!3a22GnQ. (Yassen is not someone to deal with lax security! Even for his Reddit account.)

Rejected usernames for Eagle: TweetyBirdWithClaws, Enraptored, aspiringornithologist, NoEgrets, ThisIsHawkward, WingingIt. (Cthulhu note: Olya is way too good at this.)

Almost all of the commenters are real characters from the books. (The rest of the commenters are real characters from reddit. Or. Real archetypes, anyway.) Thanks to CA for suggesting a couple of extra characters when names were needed.

We promise this is barely an exaggeration of the state of that subreddit. Maybe don’t take your serious interpersonal conflicts to Reddit if you want the best life advice, folks. (We made the decision to have an evil supervillain’s henchman be the one to recommend it for a reason…)