Actions

Work Header

The world ended when it happened to me.

Summary:

''You're just thinkin' it's a small thing that happened. The world ended when it happened to me."

The Hungarian Grand Prix was a mess. The aftermath was even messier.

**temporary hiatus!**

Notes:

i saw an edit on tikok with landoscar with the song ''we hug now'' by sydney rose and this inspired me to write this stupid angst thing (i cried to the edit like 10 times) this is also my first time writing angst so hopefully it isnt too bad :) LET THE TEARS SPILL!

(See the end of the work for more notes.)

Chapter 1: Chapter 1: The start of it all.

Notes:

i saw an edit on tikok with landoscar with the song ''we hug now'' by sydney rose and this inspired me to write this stupid angst thing (i cried to the edit like 10 times) this is also my first time writing angst so hopefully it isnt too bad :) LET THE TEARS SPILL!

(See the end of the chapter for more notes.)

Chapter Text

It’s the start of the summer break. Everyone is ready to hit the yachts or visit their families. Not Oscar. Definitely not Oscar. He’s been thinking about going home for so long, waiting for the break to start to see his family back in Australia. Not anymore.

The Hungary race was one to remember. It was Oscar’s first win. He should be excited, celebrating, and just buzzing with joy. And he was, until the last laps. McLaren had fucked up the strategy last minute and prioritized Lando over Oscar, even though Oscar was leading the entire race from the start. They, of course, made Lando give Oscar the position back but it didn’t go down without a fight.

Lando didn’t want to give the position back. He wouldn’t have done that unless the team had guilt-tripped him into it. Oscar wasn’t happy about his win anymore. Even on the podium, Lando had walked right past him with the champagne. Of course, Oscar understood him. I mean how couldn’t he? He had made the switch more painful for being slow. It wouldn’t have been that bad if he had driven faster. He celebrated with the team later, every one congratulating him on his first grand prix win, but Oscar didn’t feel as happy as he looked.

His dreams of winning a Formula 1 Grand Prix were thrown out the window.

His hopes of being with Lando were also crushed.

Oscar had been crushing on Lando since his Formula 2 days. No one could imagine how happy Oscar was finding out he would be Lando’s teammate for Formula 1. Hell, he was happier about being his teammate than finding out he’d be in Formula 1! He was always awkward around Lando, and Lando only. No one ever questioned why he got along so well with everyone on the grid except Lando. It’s not to say he didn’t get along with Lando, it just took him more time to warm up to him than it did for other people on the grid.

‘Why couldn’t my win be like yours?’

After Lando’s win in Miami, he had been so excited for his first win. He wasn’t a big party guy, but he would’ve thrown one bigger than Lando’s. But now he doesn’t even want a party. He did celebrate, his team didn’t let him just go like that. It wasn’t anything like Lando’s was, though.

It’s not fair. It was never fair. But what could he do? What was done is done. No changing the past. Does it hurt? Yes. It’ll hurt for a while. What hurt more was Lando not congratulating him like he did with his sprint races. Lando not congratulating him like he did with his podiums.

He shouldn’t be surprised Lando was angry with him. Maybe he’ll even ask for Oscar to not be his teammate anymore. He knew Lando preferred Carlos over him. He knows Lando likes Carlos more. Who wouldn’t? Oscar had spent multiple sleepless nights thinking how he could never reach Carlos’ level. Maybe next year his new teammate will be Charles. Oscar wouldn’t be mad to be Charles’ teammate. The dude did “adopt” him.

Charles and Logan were the first to reach out to Oscar after the win. He doesn’t know why he and Charles got so close. But he had always been caring towards Oscar ever since he joined Formula 1 in 2023. The both of them congratulated him on his first win, nothing out of the ordinary. But what caught Oscar’s attention was- Charles asked him if he was okay. Why wouldn’t he be? Did Charles see how Oscar was after his win?

He knew Charles was smart, but he didn’t think he’d be that smart.

Charles

Congrats on the win, son!!

You feelin’ alright?

Oscar

Thank you, I appreciate it

Yeah, why wouldn’t I be?

As Charles was typing, Oscar’s anxiety grew, because there was no way he could see right through Oscar’s disguise right?

Charles

You can’t fool me, Oscar.

Shit.

Oscar

What are you talking about?

Charles

C’mon Oscar.

I’ve been through that before too.

Oh.

Oscar

I guess there is no hiding anything from you, is there?

Charles

You know you can trust me.

I know you're in Monaco still.

My doors are open for you.

Oscar thought about it. What’s stopping him? He needed to talk to someone about this. Logan was already in America with his family and this wasn’t something Oscar was gonna talk about over text. The offer from Charles stayed in his head until he decided, fuck it, and he got up, grabbed his car keys and drove to Charles’ apartment.

His apartment wasn’t far from Charles’. Just around a 15-minute drive. Once he got there, he stood in front of his door for a few seconds before he knocked. Charles opened the door, looking rather surprised.

“Didn’t expect you to show up,” Charles said as he closed the door. Oscar walked in, a little awkward. He kicked off his shoes.

“Yeah, didn’t expect it myself to be honest.” he huffed out and followed Charles to the living room. His apartment was pretty. Definitely one of the best Oscar has seen. They sit in comfortable silence for a moment until Charles speaks up.

“Lay it out.” Oscar hesitates for a bit. Should he? Charles is trustworthy, but explaining it all would include Oscar admitting his crush on Lando. Would Charles support it?

“Lay it out raw. No one else is here, and I won’t judge a thing you say.”

That’s all it took for Oscar to get rid of his hesitation. He started telling Charles about everything- his Formula 2 days, how he dreamt of his first Formula 1 win, his crush on Lando, finding out he would be teammates with him, dreaming of a first win like Lando’s Miami win, everything about Hungary, how Lando avoided him and how he isn’t even considering Hungary as his maiden win anymore. To say Charles was shocked hearing Oscar be so undeniably raw would be an understatement. He listened intently, not saying a thing until Oscar was done. Once the Aussie finished, he grew embarrassed.

“Shit mate didn’t think someone would have had a bad race win as me,” Charles just chuckled. Oscar just went speechless with that. What the hell did Charles mean by that? From what he’d seen, none of Charles’ races were as bad as this one.

“As bad as you?’’

‘’Yeah, mate, I've been in Formula 1 longer than you were in both Formula 2 and Formula 3. I was once in the same position as you. Okay maybe not on my maiden win, but still a win ruined by some shit strategy.’’

He shouldn’t feel this relieved hearing his friend also had a win ruined by his team, right?

“And well, about the crush thing…”

And here it came. Oscar’s friendship with Charles was over. There was obviously no way Charles was gonna be friends with someone who-

“I’ve had, well, have, the same with Max.”

What? Is he hearing this right? Max? As in, the Max Verstappen? That Max?

“Holy shit,” was all he could answer ‘cause truly, holy shit. How hadn’t he seen this before? The longing stares Charles gave Max. The way he’d always try to make conversations with the champion. The way he’d always see Charles at least once in the Red Bull paddock. The way he’d always spray Max first on the podiums, even if he didn’t win. The way he blushed and avoided the question when asked if Max was good-looking. Was Oscar truly blind?

“Holy shit indeed,” he chuckled, clearly amused by Oscar’s realization hitting. “And to think I was being obvious looks like Mr. Oscar ‘Heart eyes’ Piastri didn’t notice!” Now Oscar was confused. ‘Heart eyes’? What was that about? He knew some fans called him that, but Charles? He never really understood why fans called him that. He just sort of rolled with it.

“Heart eyes?” Charles gasped in disbelief.

“You don’t know about your nickname Heart Eyes?!” Charles sounded like it was the most obvious thing ever. Oscar was growing a bit embarrassed now that he never did any research on the nickname ‘Heart eyes’. “Mate it’s the nickname you’ve gotten by staring at Lando like he hung the stars for you.” Oscar felt like his gut got punched and ripped out. Does that mean everyone knows about his stupid crush on his teammate? Does that mean Lando knows?

“Before you freak out, I feel like I have to mention not everyone knows. It’s only me, Max, Alex and George who know about it. Lando is oblivious to these things. He’s too unbearably stupid to see someone like him.”

“Okay, that does make me feel better. But what the hell do I do? They ruined my maiden win, which, I guess isn’t even the thing I’m most depressed about. What would I do if they ruined my friendship with Lando? He still hasn’t said anything to me. I truly think I’m about to get into my car and just book it off a cliff.” Charles laughed at him for the last sentence while Oscar whined.

“Oscar, Lando doesn’t break friendships ‘cause of little petty things. Trust me, he’ll reach out sooner or later. I’m down to even text him right now and ask how he’s doing if you want me to.” Charles grabbed his phone from the coffee table, ready to text Lando at Oscar’s command.

“Wouldn’t that be weird? Like you just asking ‘Hey mate, why haven’t you talked to Oscar? Kinda weird innit? It’s not like he's totally in love with you and is in shambles that you aren’t talking to him. That’s all I needed to say, enjoy your evening not being in love with your stupid awkward teammate!’ yeah, no thanks.” Oscar was about to say something more until he noticed Charles was typing on his phone. He suddenly grew very anxious. “Mate, what are you typing?” Charles was still silent until he stopped typing and showed his phone to Oscar. He was in his and Lando’s chat, an unsent message he typed showing on his phone. ‘Hey Lando, you feelin’ alright after the race? It was a hard move at the end.’ Oscar looked up at Charles before he without hesitation sent the message. The Aussie immediately got up on his feet and scrambled over to Charles. “You didn’t just send that.”

“Oh, but I did!” Charles stuck out his tongue in a playful manner as Oscar desperately tried to get his phone. They continued on play fighting until Charles got a notification on his phone. The both of them froze up. Not too long after, Oscar’s phone also vibrated. They both slowly sat back down and Charles opened his phone.

Maxie <3

can u text alex and tell him to stop sucking georges face for a moment and answer his phone? thnks<3

“Oh, it’s just Max,” Charles sighed but had a fond smile on his face. Oscar couldn’t help but feel happy seeing Charles smile like that. Until it dawned on him- if Max was the one who texted Charles, who texted him then? He unlocked his phone and saw the notification. He froze up.

Lando

Its max (fewtrell), lando is an ass and didnt congratulate u on ur win, and since i dont have ur number ill text it thru his phone

Congrats on getting that p1 bro!! I knew u could do it!

Also sorry about lando, hes a dick but will get over it

Have fun celebrating

Oscar was dumb to think Lando could have potentially reached out. He was really stupid. To quote Charles- ‘I am schtupid.’ “I’m seriously gonna lose my mind one day.” Oscar groaned and fell face-first into the couch. Charles looked at him and grabbed his phone, opening it to see the notification. He also sighed.

“At least Max has some decency. What the fuck is up Lando’s ass?” Charles was about to type out a handful of paragraphs to Lando until Oscar stopped him. Charles looked at him with a sorrowful look in his eyes. He sighed and deleted the things he already typed out. How the hell did he type out that much in mere seconds?! Suddenly the both of them hear someone barge in.

“Charles, I think I’m gonna kill Lando, ‘cause genuinely what the fuck is his problem today?!” Alex came storming into the living room until he saw Oscar. “On second thought, I shouldn’t interrupt this… moment!” Alex turned on his heel before Oscar realized what he meant and quickly coughed up a ‘Wait it isn’t what you think!’

-

“So he’s being a bitch about shit team orders?” Oscar and Charles nodded in sync, “well he’s one spoiled brat.” Charles continued to nod after that but Oscar stopped.

“It’s okay Osc, you can admit he’s a brat about this,” Charles said and Oscar agreed and just nodded. “But it’s so weird? Like- even Max reached out. And it’s not even Lando’s win they tarnished?”

“Yeah, it’s so weird.” Oscar couldn’t add anything, because he thought everything Charles and Alex did. Had something happened to Lando? But then again, Max F. had said he was just being an ass.

“I’m gonna kill him the next time I see his pruney little ass.” Alex and Charles stood up to applaud. Literally. Oscar wasn’t serious, but it felt good to get that out. After a few more conspiracies on what’s up Lando’s ass, Charles suddenly gets a line of messages on his phone. He groans and unlocks it.

‘’Oh you two are gonna love who texted me just now,” Alex and Oscar share glances before they turn to face Charles. He turns his phone around so the duo can see.

Lando Norbitches

Hey, im fine.

Sorry for the late msg, wasnt in the mood to talk to anyone

The race wasnt the best yeah

It was shittier for osc than me tho

Is he ok?

Im sure u two r closer than me nd him

Dont wanna msg him incase he hates me for making the end shittier than it was

Js let me know hes ok

“Damn,” Oscar and Alex said in unison.

“Damn indeed,” Charles echoed it.

Notes:

SOOO THIS CONCLUDES THE END OF THE FIRST CHAPTER! no idea when the next ones are gonna be released tbh im lowkey starting exam season so i have no idea when ill even get the time to update, but nevertheless! i will! this will be my first time acc writing a longer fic than just yk... one short one and giving up AND its also angst so double whammy

any constructive criticism is welcomed <3