Work Text:
Dear Raye………
Wait that sounds like we aren’t friends ugh. Like we aren’t best friends at that. I don’t know how to start letters. Who even writes letters anymore though? Oh wait, I’m writing one right now lmao. Well, I’m gonna write you a letter everyday. Nothing serious, but I just miss you. And you’re special enough for me to risk carpal tunnel for you. I can’t believe you left me. Honestly, you so wrong for that but….I’ll let you live. Only cause it’s you though. Anyways, I hope you’re getting settled and stuff. My letters will probably be boring and filled with stupid shit but I hope they make you feel a little bit less lonely in your new home.
I miss you, Tae.
Second letter and I still don’t know how to start it lol
Oh well, you know I’m talking to you. Anyways, how is everything going so far? I know it’s only been two days but have you made any friends? It’s selfish but I hope you haven’t. I’m joking!! Lol please, I hope you have met some people, I don’t want you to feel lonely. Okay okay, guess what I did today though? I went to our favorite spot in the park! It wasn’t the same without you there though, when you come home to visit you know we have to go at least once again. I still remember when we used to play tag with the little kids on the playground! Anybody else would’ve thought I was weird, but you know I’m not. But damn we’re not young anymore lmao, I almost lost a whole ass lung last time we played, I swear I seen the light. Ugh, I need to get my ass back in the gym, no wonder I ain’t got a girl right now. Or cause I used to spend all my time with you lol. Well I guess now I have time to find one huh? I’ll let you know when that happens, but don’t hold your breath on that. Anyways, I gotta go now!
Stay classy, Tae.
3rd times the charm?? Doesn’t look like it.
Have you been eating good lately? I hope so! I went to this new restaurant today and damn it was good. We’ll have to try it when you come back. I ain’t ever had a burger as good as the one they made. And the fries?? THE GOAT! I think it’s gonna become my new regular spot, it was that good. Remember when we used to have those weekends when we’d eat so much junk food and watch movies all day? Man I miss those lol. I swear we ate the most ridiculous things too, always making something new. Like that one time where I took that fried donut, cut it in half, and made a grilled cheese out of it lmaoooo. (don’t make that face, you know you liked it a little.) I’m actually surprised we didn’t get food poisoning from some of the shit we tried though. Looking back on it, some shit was a mess, but MOST tasted better than we expected. We really had some fun together, I know it’s only been a couple of days but WHEN ARE YOU COMING BACK!?
Come back to me, Tae.
I give up on these intros.
But anyways, HAVE YOU SEEN SUICIDE SQUAD?!? Dude it was so good!! I was worried they would ruin it but it actually turned out really good. That Cara girl was a bit questionable with her acting though, yikes. Will did great of course and Margot made a really good Harley. At the risk of ruining it for you, I’ll just say one part made me really sad. It really ain’t have to go down that way at ALL. But yeah, it was definitely good, 9/10 would recommend! But then again, I feel like a lot of those movies you only watched them cause I like them, you never really seemed into them like I was lol. But I’m telling you, this is a good one, even if you don’t like the comics. I hope you’ll go watch it, then we can talk about it without me spoiling it!
Your puddin’, Tae. (that’ll make sense once you watch the movie.)
I love being outside!
You’ll never guess what the fuck happened. Okay so I was out walking my dog, as I usually do. We were walking through the park when this wild ass dog starts barrelling towards us and then my dog just started running too so it ripped the leash outta my hands. So I started chasing after both dogs and then I see this girl running behind me too, shouting for the other dog to stop. The dog's name is “Mojito” by the way. Anyways so she’s shouting out “stop Mojito” and we’re both tryna catch them when they finally stop and we all outta breath and stuff. So after we get our dogs situated and back on their leashes and shit we introduce ourselves and guess what. She asked if she could walk with us! We ended up walking for hours just talking, we actually have a lot in common, I couldn’t believe it. So then right before we left…..she asked for my number!!!! Dude, me, like me, I actually got a girls number, this must be a dream. Pinch me please...oh wait, you can’t pinch me through a letter lmao. Well pinch yourself when you get this cause clearly we’ve entered an alternate dimension or something. Anyways yeah dude, this wild! I hope she calls me ugh.
Miracles do happen I guess, Tae.
Parents just don’t understand.
Ugh, I can’t stand my parents sometimes! I can’t believe how upset they are that I’ve been writing you. I know they’ve always kinda didn’t like our friendship but why are they mad at me sending you letters for?! Shit, maybe the price of stamps done really gone up or something, idk. Old people stay mad at us for just breathing. Anyways, that’s why this letter is kinda late. I think I’ll cut down to every week or every other week so they can shut up. So how are you doing? It’s been a couple weeks now since you left, I bet you’ve made a lot of friends. Anyone would love you, I know they’re probably fighting over you there. If they aren’t then clearly all of them are legally blind cause you’re amazing. I hope you’ve found people just as amazing as me hehehehehe. But I know they’re not AS good as me, right? RIGHT?! They could never come close!
The best you ever had, Tae.
I’m gonna cry.
Dude be lucky you’re gone. We’re starting class in a couple of weeks and my professors have already started emailing me about stupid assignments ugh. Like can they chill the hell out on me?? It’s still summer, I got time left! I swear I hate school. Wait, are you gonna finish your classes there? Well duh, of course you are, how else would you finish. I swear missing you is getting to my brain lmao. What classes are you gonna take this semester? I’m taking music, photography, psych, and intro to physics. It’s safe to say I am not excited. Everything was always so much easier with you here. How the hell am I gonna survive the semester without you?? If I fail just know I’ll be blaming you! This is gonna be the worst ugh. Hopefully your semester goes as bad as mine will, pettiness intended! We gonna be miserable together. Just kidding(mostly), I know you’ll be doing great regardless of all the bad wishes I send your way. You’ve always been so effortlessly smart, I’m jealous. I know I’m smart too but you never have to study, I can’t stand your ass sometimes. You’re the best at everything, especially abandoning your friends! I’M KIDDING I’M KIDDING I SWEAR! You know I have to be childish sometimes lol, it’s my coping mechanism, let me live! Anyways, let’s both work hard okay?
I still slick want you to fail, Tae.
Yeah I definitely hate school.
Dude, we’re one month into the semester and I already wanna quit. Why do we need school anyway, like people barely went to school back in the day. I think this is all the man tryna keep us down to be honest. But seriously, this shit is awful. Like why can’t teachers just coordinate together so we don’t have 44565444653 things due on the same fucking day?! Before you say something, yes I’m aware it doesn’t work like that BUT IT SHOULD! Don’t fight me on this, you know it’d be life changing if our teachers would do that! Ain’t I such a genius? One day I’m gonna be rich off my ideas, just watch. And then me and you, we’re gonna travel the world together, just like we’ve always talked about. We gotta get you over your fear of planes real quick though. Or you can just sleep through them all. Either way, we’re gonna see the world, I promise. We just have to decide where to start lol. The world will be our oyster, or however the hell that saying goes.
Pray I survive exams, Tae.
It’s cold as fuck outside.
Miraculously I made it through the semester. Just between us though, I cried more times than I can count lmao. Man this was rough, but I’m glad it’s over. How did your semester go? I hope it went well. You know…..my parents think I should stop writing you. They think it’s a waste of my time. Just because you haven’t replied doesn’t mean anything. They just don’t understand us. I know you’re probably busy, it’s not easy getting adjusted to a new place. I know you haven’t forgotten about me….have you? I’d never forget about you. Never. That’s why I’ll keep writing you no matter what. They can’t stop me, I don’t care. While I was laying out in the snow today, I was thinking of you. I know the winter was always your favorite season. I laid out there for so long I couldn’t feel my feet when I got up lol. Does it snow where you are now? I hope so. You looked so pretty when you’d be all bundled up in your winter clothes, with the snow stuck to your eyelashes. I hope you’re playing in the snow too.
Don’t forget about me, Tae.
It’s way too cold.
It’s been such a pretty winter this year. I’m kinda ready for spring already though lol. Winter was always your thing more than mine. I’m freezing most of my ass off out here. I did build a snowman though, it was lopsided of course. I can never get mine as perfect as yours were. I made two snow angels too, one for me, one for you. I put a halo over your head for you. See how much of a good friend I am? You know, snowball fights aren’t as fun by myself lol. I actually went to the park the other day, some of the kids we used to play with were there. They asked about you, I think they miss you too! I played with them for awhile until it was time for them to go home. I told them I’d tell you hi for them, so I’m telling you! Have you been able to play in the snow?? I hope so, I hope you’re having the best time.
You’re my snow angel, Tae.
I hate everything.
I don’t know how much longer I can keep this up. My parents just don’t get it. They think I have a problem. They think that…………..I can’t accept that you’re gone. And it’s not that I don’t know you’re gone it’s just…..why should I have to accept it?? Why can’t I be able to pretend for just a bit longer that you’ll come back one day? Pretend that you’ll write me back, that I’ll get to see your smile again. It’s nobodies business what I do. They don’t know how close we were, how much you meant to me. You were the only person who was always there for me, who always accepted me no matter what. I’m not hurting anyone by writing these letters. Nobody but myself, but who cares about me right? You didn’t when you decided to leave me. But I don’t hold that against you anymore, I know you had your reasons. And I have my reasons for writing you. I have to. I need you to know that I’ll never forget you no matter what. Do you think there's something wrong with me? Maybe there is lol. Oh well, I’ll be okay.
Forever, Tae.
I’m so cold.
You know, even though I don’t write you everyday, I still go see you everyday. I talk to you too. About stuff that’s not in my letters. I miss you so much, I don’t think I can keep doing this. My parents really think something’s wrong with me. They’re gonna send me to some institution to get help. I don’t need help, I just need you. Why don’t they understand that? I’m not sick, I know I’m know I’m not. They’re fucking idiots if they think I’m about to let them lock me up and forget about me. I wouldn’t last in a place like that. I’ve been thinking about this for a long time but…….I wanna come with you. Actually, I have to come with you. That’s the only way I’ll ever be happy again. We’ve never been separated since we were kids, this is the longest I’ve gone without you. It’s clearly not for me. I’ve already wrote my parents a letter explaining everything to them. I feel bad but, I can’t keep living like this. We’re gonna travel the world like we always planned. I’ll meet you at our spot on the cliff at the park.
With you till the end, Tae.
