Actions

Work Header

Rating:
Archive Warning:
Categories:
Fandom:
Relationships:
Characters:
Additional Tags:
Language:
English
Stats:
Published:
2019-10-22
Updated:
2019-10-26
Words:
11,158
Chapters:
5/?
Comments:
149
Kudos:
759
Bookmarks:
144
Hits:
7,653

the hero chat (noir)

Chapter 5: chat noir is a BABY HUFFLEPUFF

Notes:

i skipped over a few days in the timeline! i wanted to get to the video. :3 my plan's pretty vague from now on, though i do have a few ideas for conversations to include in later chapters.

reminder that i haven't actually watched miraculous ladybug in like... at least a year? maybe longer? so i apologize for any inaccuracies. it's a lot harder to get things right in prose than it is in a group chat, heh

we're getting into some romance here! nothing more than these kids embarrassing themselves over crushes. i'll back off from the romance after this chapter, but the identity shenanigans were too fun to resist

i wanted to apologize for not responding to comments last chapter. i didn't respond to everyone's comments because i didn't have the energy. which feels like a really crummy excuse, so i'm really sorry for that. i have read every single comment and i appreciate them all. they're the reason this story exists. i'll try to respond to them and/or future comments. college classes + chronic illness are just terribly exhausting. shout-out to my asl professor for bringing us candy in class because everyone had been looking tired

i also reuploaded some ml fanfics from my old account. three of them are one-shots. the first two are gen: one is cracky identity shenanigans and one is ladynoir friendship/fluff/angst. the last one is a alyadrien and ninette youtube/coffee shop au.

the last fanfic is the first chapter of an old multichapter that will be uploaded every other day until all six chapters are up. that one's a valentine's day love square fic with loads of identity shenanigans, if anyone is interested in that! the basic premise is that marinette tries to ask adrien out and fails so badly he thinks she's asking him to be her wingman. it's got all the sides of the love square but is mostly adrinette and ladynoir.

anyway, i hope you guys enjoy this chapter! sorry for the wait, and sorry again for not responding to comments. please know that i read every one of them and they still manage to make my day every time. <3

(See the end of the chapter for more notes.)

Chapter Text

Direct Message: bee-you-tiful, carapeace, Chat Noir, ladybug, official ladyblogger, rena the rogue

official ladyblogger: It's here! Thank you all so much for appearing on my blog. Here's the link to the interview, as well as the link to the merch shop: [link] [link]

[link 1: A link to a blog post titled "TEAM MIRACULOUS COMING OUT INTERVIEW", with a video at the top of the page.

The video shows the five superheroes, four of whom are sitting on Alya's living room couch. Each of the heroes is wearing their sexuality shirt, gifted to them by Chat Noir, over their suit. Chat Noir is sitting on the arm of the couch, and looks thrilled by it. The rest of the heroes all sit like normal people. Queenie is next to Chat, and Ladybug is between her and Carapace. Rena Rouge sits on a chair, apart from the others, looking a little nervous, and Carapace offers her a smile. Queen Bee and Ladybug look varying degrees of exhausted.

"What's up, Ladybloggers!" Alya may not be able to be seen in the frame, but her voice is unmistakable. It is obvious that she is the one holding the phone. "Today I'm with all five superheroes from Team Miraculous for a special interview. In fact, they were the ones who requested this interview, and I was more than happy to oblige."

Ladybug is the first hero to speak. "Thank you so much for having us, Alya," she greets warmly. "While we don't like giving out identity information, the most important thing to us is that we do our best to keep Paris and her people safe from harm. While this is most obvious through us fighting akumas..."

"Screw Hawkmoth," Queen Bee mutters.

"...We are here to help the people of this city in other ways, too," Ladybug finishes. "And one way we wanted to do this was to show the LGBT people of Paris that they have our support. We also wanted to show them that they are not alone. We will absolutely not tolerate homophobia in our city. We'd feel that way even if we weren't all LGBT ourselves."

"Does that mean..." Alya trails off. "Does that have something to do with the shirts you're wearing?"

"Yes, actually!" Carapace grins. "Chat Noir made these for us after we had a team discussion about our sexualities." He straightens out his shirt to show it off. "I'm demisexual, which is on the asexuality spectrum, which is why my shirt is a pun on 'ace'. For those who don't know, that means that I don't feel sexual attraction until I've formed a close bond with someone. I can't give out the details, but I didn't fall for Rena until we'd spent a good amount of time together."

"Very close together," Rena adds with a wink. She stands up to proudly display her own shirt. "I'm pansexual, meaning that I like people of any gender. It's pretty close to bisexuality, but I don't take gender into account. I know some people who feel the same way I do identify more closely with bisexuality, and that's okay too! I just prefer the term pansexual because it feels like a better fit. I've been known to have crushes on people of all genders. Gender's a social construct, anyway."

"I'm actually pansexual, too!" Alya says. She reaches out to give Rena an air high five. Rena gladly returns it. "To be honest, even though I'm very happy with my boyfriend, being asked to interview so many of my past crushes is kind of surreal."

"Who?" Queen Bee asks.

"Queenie," Ladybug scolds. "She may not want to say that for all of her followers to hear. That's private information."

"Nah, it's okay." Alya brushes it off. "I'm pretty chill about talking about my crushes. I'm not exactly subtle when I tell my boyfriend how hot Ladybug is."

Ladybug turns suspiciously pink.

"Sorry for leaving you out, Chat Noir and Queen Bee," Alya says. "I mean, don't get me wrong, you're both gorgeous, but you two aren't really my type. I mean I've certainly thought about it and I wouldn't say no if either of you were to ask me out - sorry, Nino - but at first, I only had eyes for Ladybug. Then Rena Rouge came along and I had to rethink everything because let's be honest. She's probably even more attractive than Ladybug."

Ladybug chokes.

"Are you okay?" Chat Noir asks. "Jealous, m'lady? You know I only have eyes for you."

"Ugh." Ladybug rolls her eyes as Alya continues.

"But then Carapace came onto the scene and I realized he was probably the most attractive of you all. But this isn't about my sexuality. I want to hear more about yours. Queen Bee?"

Queen Bee stands up and strikes a pose. Chat Noir looks like he's trying not to laugh. "I'm bi," Queen Bee says with a proud smile. "I was in denial about it for a while. I was so ridiculously convinced I was straight. I thought I had a crush on my childhood best friend but it turned out I was just lonely."

"Mood," Chat Noir says vehemently.

"Eventually I realized I was actually crushing on a girl in my class. I know I haven't treated that well. She was my enemy through most of our childhood, but it took me until this year to realize that it was mostly me treating her horribly while she just took it. She started standing up for herself this year, though, and that's when I realized I had a crush on her. She was my bi awakening."

Chat Noir's eyes go wide as she finishes talking.

"Like I said, I'll be the first to admit that I've treated people poorly in the past. But I'm working on it! Which isn't on topic for the interview, sorry. But I am working on it."

Chat pats Queen Bee's arm.

"Thank you for the candor, Queen Bee," Alya says. "I think I speak for all of us when I say that you've proven yourself to be a good person."

"I've proven Queen Bee to be a good person," Queen Bee corrects. "My civilian identity... I'm still working on it."

Chat swats her arm. "Stop talking about yourself like that."

She sticks out her tongue. "Oh yeah, you're one to talk!"

Ladybug lets out a long-suffering sigh. "I'm bisexual as well," she says. "Not much to say there. I'm pretty secure in my identity, and I'm lucky to have such supportive family and friends."

"And I'm asexual," Chat Noir says. "At least, I think I am. So to all of you who are questioning your identities right now... you're not alone. But asexual seems like the right description for me at the moment. I mean, I don't really want to talk about sex considering we're family friendly heroes..."

"Chat won't even say (BEEP)," Queen Bee adds with a grin.

Chat blushes at hearing Queen Bee's swear. "...but I'm a pretty sex-repulsed ace. I'm not aromantic, though. I'm not entirely sure of my romantic identity? I've still got some of my identity to discover."

"Thank you all for being so upfront about your sexualities," Alya says. "This is... wow. I can say that it means a lot to me as a civilian to see that the heroes saving Paris are just like me. That I'm not alone. And I'm sure I'm not the only one."

"That's what we're here for," Ladybug says with a smile. "Thank you for agreeing to do this, Alya."

"Of course! Thank you, Ladybug. Do you mind if I ask a few more questions?"

"Go ahead! We reserve the right to refuse them, though."

"That's fair," Alya acknowledges. "To start out: without naming any names, would anyone like to follow up Queen Bee and speak a little about their crushes?"

Ladybug turns red. Chat Noir looks at her. Rena smiles softly at Carapace.

"Shelly over here is my boyfriend," she says. "Dating someone of the opposite gender doesn't make me heterosexual. We're both queer and completely in love with each other. At least, I hope he's completely in love with me," she adds slyly.

Carapace turns red, too. "I am," he assures her. "But did you have to call me Shelly on camera? Alya, please edit that out."

The camera doesn't have to pan to Alya's expression. Carapace's groan says enough.

"Ladybug? Chat Noir?"

"Well..." Ladybug lets out a long breath. "There's this boy I know in civilian life. Like Rena said, that doesn't mean I'm not bi. I hated him at first thanks to a misunderstanding, but I fell in love with him when he took the time to clear it up. He's super sweet and beautiful and friendly," she gushes. "I won't say any more than that, in case some jerks out there start claiming to be my crush. I don't think he even realizes I exist."

"How could anyone not realize you exist?" Chat Noir looks at her with a soft smile. "I'm sure he notices you a lot more than you realize."

Ladybug shrugs. "Maybe. I mean, I think we're friends? He's friends with pretty much everyone in the... err..." She scrambles but ends up just trailing off. "He's pretty oblivious, though."

"He sounds wonderful, Ladybug," Alya says. "I hope he notices you. Like Chat Noir said, it's a crime that he doesn't. Speaking of Chat Noir..."

Chat laughs. "Once I've figured out how to tell the difference between a romantic crush and a friend crush, I'll let you know." But his gaze does slide over to Ladybug.

"All right then," Alya agrees. "How about celebrity crushes?"

"Oh, that's easy," Ladybug says with a blush. "Adrien Agreste."

Carapace snaps and points to her, and Rena Rouge nods in agreement.

"Absolutely," Queen Bee adds. 

Chat buries his face in his hands.

Taking pity on him, Queen Bee adds," And Ladybug."

"Is it a celebrity crush if she's my superhero partner?" Chat Noir wonders aloud. His face is slightly red, for some reason. Ladybug turns as red as her suit.

"I don't know," Rena muses. "I'll count it. And it goes for me, too. Sorry, Carapace."

He smiles good-naturedly. "Nah, it's cool, dude. I totally get it."

"Oh my god," Ladybug says into her hands.

Alya chuckles. "Well, I think this is as good a place to end this interview. Does anyone have any advice to add before we go?"

"Don't talk about your crushes in an interview that's going to be posted on the public internet," Ladybug mumbles.

"Mood," the other four heroes say.

"And I guess... stay true to yourself? I know life sucks right now. I can't promise it'll get better, because I don't know that it will. But... hang in there. It's okay if you're not out, and it's okay if you can't be out right now. Please take care of yourselves. And remember that we may be heroes, but we're just like you. And we're always here for you."

"I can't think of anything else to add to that," Chat Noir says. "Except that you should always listen to Ladybug."

"Damn right."

"Thank you all so much again," Alya says. "Ladybloggers, if you like the shirts they're wearing, you can get prints of them in the Ladyblog merch store. 100% of the proceeds go to a local LGBT charity, so you should really check it out."

"The merch is entirely endorsed by us," Ladybug says. "Chat Noir designed them, and we thought they were so cute that they should be shared with the world. Alya is incredibly generous to let us give all of the earnings to charity. Please give her some love."

Alya finally flips the camera to herself. She's blushing. "Thanks, Ladybloggers. Peace out!"]

[link 2: A link to the merchandise page of the Ladyblog, with a banner at the top that reads "OFFICIAL Team Miraculous Merch!"]

Chat Noir: That's so exciting! Thank you so much, Alya!

carapeace: whyyyyy didn't you delete shelly

official ladyblogger: :)

 

#general

ace of cats: guys, i've been scrolling through the comments on the interview and most of them are super supportive!

ace of cats: i know that we did this to help other people. but it's really helped me, too.

ace of cats: so many of the people in the comments are ace like me! and they're all saying how much they relate to what i was saying and aaaa it makes it feel real, you know?

ace of cats: like i'm not faking it. like i really am ace.

ladybi: <3

ace of cats: i think we aced this interview. :3

ladybi: you know, usually the puns bother me but i can't be mad at this one

foxy older sister: we love you chat

queen bi: i know right? it was super fulfilling. maybe it'll give me the courage to come out in my civilian life sometime soon

queen bi: i mean i've been considering it. i've just been... kind of scared to be honest

ace of cats: you know i support you no matter what, queenie. and that goes for everyone here. <3

queen bi: i mean duh you've known i was bi longer than anyone else has

queen bi: but thanks <3 that means a lot

foxy older sister: if anyone makes fun of you or gives you trouble for it i'll fight them

carapACE: and i won't stop her

ladybi: and i'll tape it and send footage of alya to post on the ladyblog to prove that homophobia is not okay

ladybi: but please don't feel like you have to come out. it's okay if it isn't safe to

queen bi: i think my dad may be okay with it. he loves me a lot

foxy older sister: does he know that chat is ace?

ace of cats: no, i haven't told him. i don't think he'd take it well because i think he's hoping i'll continue on the family line or something.

carapACE: :(

ladybi: please stay safe, both of you

queen bi: i mean i don't think a door-to-door toilet paper salesman has much room to talk about what we choose to do with our lives

foxy older sister: rethyjuktreyhjrtwyjrgfd

carapACE: fair

foxy older sister: i still can't get over that

ace of cats: hey, he's a rich door-to-door toilet paper salesman, don't forget.

ace of cats: don't do him dirty like that

ladybi: that has different connotations because of his occupation 

queen bi: well to be fair our dad can be s***

foxy older sister: wait why'd you bleep it out

queen bi: chat noir

carapACE: wait what about chat noir

queen bi: i mean don't get me wrong his mind isn't entirely clean considering he grew up with the internet and anime but he's almost two years younger than me so i have to protect him

foxy older sister: she protec

foxy older sister: she attac

foxy older sister: but most importantly she got her brother's bac

ace of cats: :3

ladybi: wait if chat noir's two years younger does that mean you've already finished with physics and if so can you help me

queen bi: nah

ace of cats: we're actually in the same grade! i skipped ahead thanks to homeschooling

carapACE: ...what

foxy older sister: oh my god

ladybi: wait what

ladybi: chat noir does this mean you're thirteen

ace of cats: i turned fourteen at the start of the school year!

foxy older sister: oh my GOD

foxy older sister: he's a BABY

queen bi: wait did you not know this

ladybi: no???

ace of cats: it's not that much of an age difference 3:

ladybi: this explains So Much

ace of cats: what does that mean??

ladybi: you'll find out when you're older

ace of cats: rude

 

Direct Message: bee-you-tiful & Chat Noir

bee-you-tiful: i can't believe you and ladybug have both lied about your ages you deserve each other

 

#general

ace of cats: so what's everyone's hogwarts house?

ladybi: slytherin

ace of cats: tbh i'm not surprised

queen bi: heck yes ladybug and i are dormmates

foxy older sister: chat noir's a baby third year

foxy older sister: one of the oldest in third year sure but a baby third year

foxy older sister: he doesn't even have to worry about his OWLs

ace of cats: i'm not that young!

foxy older sister: i'm a gryffindor lmao

ladybi: hmm you'd make a good ravenclaw too

foxy older sister: so would you tbh

carapACE: have you guys seen the sorting hat chats? those are legit. they just came out with a quiz too

ace of cats: ooh

carapACE: i'm a hufflepuff

ace of cats: !!!

ace of cats: me too!!

carapACE: it suits you

ladybi: i can see it! you'd make a good ravenclaw too though, considering you skipped two grades

ace of cats: to be fair, ravenclaws being studious is a stereotype. hufflepuffs are the hardworking ones while ravenclaws are the messes that hyperfixate on things and forget about their homework

ace of cats: which i mean does sound like me a lot of the time

ladybi: wow mood

foxy older sister: chat noir is a BABY HUFFLEPUFF

ace of cats: carapace is in hufflepuff too! why isn't he a baby hufflepuff?

foxy older sister: because he's not freaking thirteen years old

ace of cats: i'm fourteen!

foxy older sister:  baby

Notes:

the others are fifteen

i really love the idea that adrien skipped a couple of grades because gabriel would be much more concerned with adrien being on his grade level than being with people his age and adrien would know it

plus this way he'd get to be with chloe

i don't know how it works in france but gabriel was probably planning for him to start college classes online in a year or two to get ahead, but definitely not in a Real Classroom until absolutely necessary

i'm saying this from experience not because i had horrible parents (i didn't i love them) but because i was homeschooled from fifth grade on and started community college at fifteen

i mean i chose to be homeschooled? but tbh it's part of the reason i love adrien so much it's so cool to see a homeschooled character, even if his experience was totally different than mine. (specifically i mean i was actually socialized and i was not rich)

me: i want to write about their hogwarts houses
also me: -hasn't thought about their hogwarts houses in like two years-

i'm a ravenclaw so it makes me sad not to represent my own house but i like the conversations they had about their houses so i'm sticking with it (for now)

as always, comments make my life and when chat was talking about the ladyblog comments he was talking about you guys and your wonderful comments about being ace <33

Notes:

tag yourself i'm chat noir

i'm not completely sold on continuing this past the one other chapter i have planned so comment if you want more ;)

ily guys