Actions

Work Header

uh-oh, here we go!

Summary:

phantomthief: do you guys count tech crew as part of the choir or something? because i’m just on tech crew

dyingdetective: tech crew?

phantomthief: yeah lmao i’m not in the choir

treblemaker: ...yeah you are

treblemaker: your name is right here on the list

phantomthief: isn’t crew on that list too??

treblemaker: well yeah, but you aren’t listed under crew, you're listed under tenors

phantomthief: ?

///

Hope's Peak Academy's varsity show choir, Power Play, welcomes its newest member, Kokichi Ouma.

It, like most things involving Kokichi Ouma, goes terribly wrong.

Notes:

i miss show choir. here's a chatfic about it. this is the most self-indulgent bullshit you will ever see

here's all the usernames!

rantaro: freshavocado
kaede: treblemaker
ryoma: rhoshi
kirumi: momfriend
angie: atuaswitness
tenko: girlkisser
korekiyo: kork
miu: tittytyphoon
gonta: beesknees
kokichi: phantomthief
kaito: luminaryofthestarboys
tsumugi: yknolikenya
kiibo: k1-b0
himiko: magicalgirl
maki: makiroll
shuichi: dyingdetective

Chapter 1: 1!

Notes:

(See the end of the chapter for notes.)

Chapter Text

treblemaker added 14 users to power play 2019-2020.

 

treblemaker granted Moderator privileges to momfriend, makiroll, and dyingdetective.

 

Moderators:

treblemaker, momfriend, makiroll, dyingdetective

 

Members:

freshavocado, rhoshi, atuaswitness, girlkisser, kork, tittytyphoon, beesknees, luminaryofthestarboys, yknolikenya, k1-b0, magicalgirl

 

treblemaker: welcome back, everyone! i hope summer break treated everyone well :) we’re going to be giving you all the setlist today at rehearsal so make sure you’re there!

 

tittytyphoon: OUR FIRST REHEARSAL IS TODAY??????

 

makiroll: Yes. It’s only for thirty minutes right after school, so it shouldn’t be a big deal.

 

makiroll: Unless, of course, you have once again double-scheduled yourself for choir and robotics, Miu.

 

tittytyphoon: FUCK

 

k1-b0: How do you manage to do this every year

 

treblemaker: how was everyone’s summer break?

 

atuaswitness: angie got to go on a mission trip with her youth group!

 

freshavocado: jealous

 

freshavocado: where to

 

atuaswitness: the united states!

 

freshavocado: ah.

 

freshavocado: i am no longer jealous

 

magicalgirl: i didn’t kno they did mission trips 2 the us….

 

atuaswitness: we do now! god only knows they need the help :)

 

beesknees: Ryoma won another tennis tournament!!

 

magicalgirl: yaaaay ryomaaaa

 

rhoshi: it really wasn’t a big deal

 

beesknees: It seemed like a big deal :O The bleachers were packed, Gonta could barely find a seat!

 

freshavocado: you went to his tournament?

 

beesknees: Of course!!!!!!

 

freshavocado: ryoma

 

freshavocado: gonta went to your tournament

 

rhoshi: what about it

 

freshavocado: interesting

 

rhoshi: what??

 

atuaswitness: angie is getting the feeling that this is a conversation we should not be privy to :)

 

rhoshi: this is not a conversation at all

 

freshavocado: it could be if u weren’t a coward

 

treblemaker deleted a message from freshavocado.

 

treblemaker: i learned to play uninstall!

 

freshavocado: weeb

 

luminaryofthestarboys: Weeb

 

tittytyphoon: fucking weeb

 

treblemaker: WH

 

treblemaker: WE ARE LITERALLY JAPANESE

 

yknolikenya: oh i love that song kaede! i’ve tried to learn it before but i gave up

 

yknolikenya: but i bet it was much easier for you to play

 

treblemaker: yeah!! it was fun

 

treblemaker: what did you do, tsu?

 

yknolikenya: oh well honestly i spent most of my time in my room

 

yknolikenya: i did post a fanfiction that got 80k kudos!!

 

treblemaker: cool!

 

treblemaker: (is that a lot)

 

dyingdetective: wowie

 

dyingdetective: the most i’ve gotten is 150

 

yknolikenya: well yk you’ll get there :)

 

treblemaker: anybody else?

 

magicalgirl: i saved a cat tht was stuck ina tree

 

girlkisser: You saved MY cat that was stuck in a tree!!!!

 

girlkisser: And it was so noble and amazing of you <3

 

magicalgirl: tnx tnko

 

freshavocado: and how’d you do that?

 

magicalgirl: it was magic

 

freshavocado: isn’t it always

 

dyingdetective: kaito you attended space camp again right? how was that?

 

luminaryofthestarboys: We did not attend space camp

 

luminaryofthestarboys: We counseled space camp

 

dyingdetective: … “we” ???

 

tittytyphoon: who the fuck is we

 

freshavocado: 👀?

 

luminaryofthestarboys: Oh fuck

 

luminaryofthestarboys: Nothing nobody forget I said anything

 

freshavocado: what lame

 

freshavocado: you can’t just not tell us

 

girlkisser: What is with men and secrets?

 

magicalgirl: nnnnh ths iz gna bug me all day if u dnt tell us

 

girlkisser: That’s right! Spill the beans, spaceboy!

 

luminaryofthestarboys: There are no beans to spi

 

luminaryofthestarboys: Spaceboy?

 

tittytyphoon: SHUICHI WHO WAS IT

 

dyingdetective: how would i know!!

 

tittytyphoon: don’t you fucking kin that old ass detective guy

 

tittytyphoon: do whatever the fuck he does

 

dyingdetective: HE HAS A NAME

 

dyingdetective: i mean

 

dyingdetective deleted a message from themself.

 

dyingdetective: angie, gonta, ryoma, kaede, tsumugi, himiko, and tenko told us what they did this summer

 

dyingdetective: and i know it couldn’t have been miu, rantaro, or myself because miu has posted pics from her lab every single day this summer, rantaro was out of the country, and i’ve been at my parents’ all summer

 

dyingdetective: so that would leave kirumi, maki, kiyo, and kiibo, all of whom appear to have gone offline

 

tittytyphoon: NOT FOR LONG @ momfriend @ kork @ k1-b0 @ makiroll

 

momfriend: Yes?

 

kork: What do you want?

 

k1-b0: Hi, Miu!

 

makiroll: Ping me again and I’ll smash your phone.

 

tittytyphoon: !!!

 

dyingdetective: i don’t think it was kiyo or kiibo

 

dyingdetective: space camp doesn’t… really seem like their vibe

 

makiroll: Oh, but it does seem like my vibe or Kirumi’s?

 

dyingdetective: well, it’s a camp, and kirumi does like taking care of people

 

dyingdetective: and you

 

dyingdetective: well

 

dyingdetective: i mean

 

dyingdetective: nvm it must've been kirumi

 

momfriend: I’m afraid it wasn’t. I’ve been otherwise preoccupied all sumer.

 

freshavocado: lmfao

 

makiroll: Spit it out. What were you going to say?

 

tittytyphoon: HE WAS GONNA SAY YOU GOT THE HOTS FOR HO-MOTA

 

dyingdetective: THAT IS NOT WHAT I WAS GOING TO SAY

 

makiroll:

 

dyingdetective: maki she’s putting words in my mouth please don’t kill me

 

makiroll: I swear.

 

makiroll: @luminaryofthestarboys You are the worst at keeping secrets.

 

luminaryofthestarboys: I’M SORRY MAKIROLL

 

dyingdetective: wait you were the co-counselor?

 

makiroll: I was. 

 

makiroll: If any of you make a big deal out of it I will have your head on a pike.

 

tittytyphoon: I WAS FUCKING RIGHT!! YOU DO HAVE A FUCKING CRUSH ON SPACEBOY!! LMFAOOOOOOO

 

makiroll:

 

makiroll: brb

 

makiroll went offline.

 

tittytyphoon: oh fuck

 

tittytyphoon went offline. 

 

treblemaker: alright!!

 

treblemaker: thirty minutes into the school year and we’re already about to have our first attempted murder!!

 

freshavocado: hey at least we lasted 25 minutes longer than last year

 

treblemaker: that’s unfortunately true

 

treblemaker: in other news, i closed the leadership poll last night!! here are the results:

 

treblemaker:

     Student President: Kaede Akamatsu

     Soprano Vocal Leader: Kirumi Tojo

     Alto Vocal Leader: Shuichi Saihara

     Tenor Vocal Leader: Kaito Momota

     Bass Vocal Leader: Ryoma Hoshi

     Male Dance Captain: Kaito Momota

     Female Dance Captain: Miu Iruma

 

momfriend: Soprano vocal leader? I was a mezzo last year…

 

momfriend: I will do my best.

 

rhoshi: what

 

rhoshi: i didn’t even know i was up for that

 

beesknees: Oh!!!! Congrats, Ryoma! <3

 

rhoshi: h

 

rhoshi: thanks man

 

girlkisser: shuichi doesn’t even count as an alto! he’s a boy!

 

luminaryofthestarboys: TWO leadership roles? You guys must like me a whole lot

 

makiroll: This is gonna be a weird year.

 

tittytyphoon: at least this year you guys are gonna have a dance captain who can dance >:3

 

yknolikenya: junko was a good dancer!

 

rhoshi: she was not

 

luminaryofthestarboys: She was most certainly not

 

tittytyphoon: remember when she fell flat on her face on the front row and got a concussion

 

tittytyphoon: lol

 

yknolikenya: well i thought she was good >:(

 

yknolikenya: and now without her we have an uneven number

 

yknolikenya: which is

 

yknolikenya: unsatisfying

 

kork: Did you think she was good, or were you just attracted to her

 

dyingdetective: 🤭

 

yknolikenya: how DARE--

 

freshavocado: this year’s gonna be better at least without all of her… shenanigans

 

freshavocado: kirumi anything new with your dad?

 

momfriend: Nothing of note.

 

momfriend: Actually

 

momfriend: There is a new student starting this year, I think, so Tsumugi, you won’t have to worry about uneven numbers.

 

yknolikenya: oh

 

yknolikenya: great

 

dyingdetective: oh? do you have a name?

 

momfriend: I believe it was Kokichi Ouma?

 

dyingdetective: oh, that must be the boy i didn’t recognize, his name was on the list for the choir

 

freshavocado: he’s gonna be competing with us this year i guess

 

dyingdetective: is he in the chat?

 

treblemaker: no, i didn’t know his username so i haven’t added him :( but as soon as we do figure it out i’ll add him

 

dyingdetective: um

 

dyingdetective: i can ask him

 

dyingdetective: the teacher just did rolecall and apparently he is sitting right next to me as i type this

 

yknolikenya: how convenient!

 

---

 

“Take a picture,” says the purple-haired boy sitting next to Shuichi, quietly, so as not to be noticed by the teacher. There’s a smirk on his face as he says it, barely even bothering to glance at Shuichi. “It’ll last longer.”

 

Shuichi abruptly realizes he’s staring and reverts his gaze back to his notebook. “Sorry,” he says sheepishly. “You, um… You’re Kokichi, right?”

 

Kokichi nods. “Do you how do?” he says, reaching out to shake Shuichi’s hand. Shuichi hesitantly accepts it, half-nervous the student is hiding a buzzer in his palm. “Nice to meet you, Shuichi!”

 

“Yeah, you too,” Shuichi says, trying to offer him a smile. “Uh… so, I’m in Power Play, and I noticed your name on that list, too,”

 

“Yeah, I just needed an extracurricular, and it was available, so,” He says with a shrug. 

 

That seems like an odd reason to join a show choir, but Shuichi pays it no mind. “Right, right, uh-- Do you have an On Blast account? We have a groupchat on there that I could add you to, so you know when rehearsals and competitions and, y’know, everything else, are,”

 

Kokichi raises an eyebrow at Shuichi, an inquisitive smile crossing his face. Whatever he was going to say, he foregoes it in favor of pulling his phone from his pocket and opening the OB app, passing it to Shuichi. “Find your account, I’ll follow you,”

 

“Oh, uh, sure,” Shuichi says, gingerly taking the phone (which, for some godforsaken reason, is lacking a case?) and searching up his own username. He passes it back to Kokichi, who examines it for a moment, and then, there’s a buzz in Shuichi’s jacket pocket. He pulls his phone out, examining the notification. 

 

@ PHANTOMTHIEF followed you.

 

“Phantom Thief,” Shuichi repeats to himself. “Cool.”

 

Kokichi opens his mouth to respond, but is cut off by the teacher at the front of the classroom loudly clapping her hands. “Boys. Would you like to share whatever you’re texting about right now?”

 

On impulse, Shuichi starts to apologize, but Kokichi doesn’t miss a beat, leaning forward in his seat. “Shumai was just sending the syllabus to me. Y’know, like you forgot to do?” He lies coolly, and Shuichi, startled by the nickname, stares at him, eyes widening a little-- in the blink of an eye, Kokichi switches from his account on On Blast to Google Drive, the class’s syllabus document opened, and then flips that screen toward the teacher, so smoothly he doesn’t register it happening. 

 

Evidently, neither does the teacher. She recognizes the obnoxious little PicsArt icon she made for the syllabus in the corner of the screen and clears her throat. “Very well. No more phones from now on, Ouma,”

 

“Sure thing, teach,” he responds, sleeping his phone. And to top it off, he turns to Shuichi and, only barely loud enough for the people around them to hear, says “Thanks for helping me,”

 

He looks at Shuichi expectantly for a moment before Shuichi realizes he is supposed to respond. “Oh. Sure thing, any time,” They both lean back into their seats, and the teacher continues droning on about whatever she was droning on about. 

 

When Shuichi glances over at Kokichi, he’s grinning slyly. He gives Shuichi a cheeky thumbs up.

 

---

 

Private conversation between dyingdetective and phantomthief

 

dyingdetective: thanks for saving me there lol

 

phantomthief: sure thing!!!!! xo

 

phantomthief: heeeeey, wanna repay me by walking me to all my classes? because i have no idea where i’m going and this school is massive :(

 

dyingdetective: oh of course!

 

dyingdetective: and i’ll add you to the power play groupchat too

 

phantomthief: aw thank you sooo much shumai <3

 

dyingdetective: whefhwsi

 

dyingdetective: sorry about that i dropped my phone uh anyways

 

Private conversation between dyingdetective and treblemaker

 

dyingdetective: Help

 

treblemaker: what’s wrong?

 

treblemaker: is he mean? please tell me he’s not mean we JUST got rid of junko

 

dyingdetective: no it’s worse

 

treblemaker:

 

treblemaker: is he cute

 

dyingdetective: YES

 

dyingdetective: kaede he’s SO cute

 

treblemaker: you are such a disaster

 

dyingdetective: and he’s ??? i don’t know what he’s doing he’s confusing me

 

dyingdetective: he called me shumai and he wrote a little heart emote in one of his messages

 

dyingdetective: AND he signed off a different one of his messages with XO????

 

treblemaker: he sent you kisses!!

 

dyingdetective: kaede i’m a wreck

 

dyingdetective: what do i do

 

treblemaker: did you get his username?

 

dyingdetective: OH 

 

dyingdetective: yeah i’ll add him now

 

treblemaker: do that, and see where it goes from there!!

 

treblemaker: aww my shuushuu is finding love

 

dyingdetective: 🤨

 

treblemaker: oh what he can call you shumai but i can’t call you shuushuu

 

dyingdetective: shuushuu is inarguably worse

 

treblemaker: you’re right but must you say it </3

 

dyingdetective added phantomthief to power play 2019-2020.

 

power play 2019-2020

 

Moderators:

treblemaker, momfriend, makiroll, dyingdetective

 

Members:

freshavocado, rhoshi, atuaswitness, girlkisser, kork, tittytyphoon, beesknees, luminaryofthestarboys, yknolikenya, k1-b0, magicalgirl, phantomthief

 

treblemaker: hi, kokichi! welcome to the group! my name is kaede :)

 

makiroll: Everyone should have their names and pronouns on their profiles. Check those out if you need.

 

beesknees: Hi Kokichi!

 

phantomthief: greetings & salutations

 

magicalgirl: nyehh whts hapning

 

girlkisser: I was hoping our next member would be another girl… :(

 

freshavocado: oh shit, are you the short one i fuckin bowled over in the parking lot today

 

phantomthief: that was YOU?

 

freshavocado: yeah lmfao sorry

 

freshavocado: in my defense, i was very, very high

 

phantomthief: oh, well, in that case all is forgiven ^u^

 

freshavocado: oh really?

 

phantomthief: NO motherfucker you HIT ME with a MOVING VEHICLE

 

freshavocado: bro i’m SORRY

 

treblemaker: WH

 

tittytyphoon: EHSHSJDHHERUDH!!?!?(!(!???((?(?(

 

treblemaker: RANTARO. DID YOU HIT OUR NEW MEMBER WITH YOUR CAR

 

freshavocado: only a little

 

tittytyphoon: HOW DO YOU HIT SOMEONE WITH YOUR CAR A LITTLE

 

freshavocado: guys i am.

 

freshavocado: i am in the fucking clouds right now can we table this discussion

 

treblemaker: WHY ARE YOU HIGH RIGHT NOW

 

freshavocado: why would i WANT to be SOBER right now

 

tittytyphoon: IT’S THE FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL???!!?!!!)?(?)?

 

freshavocado: the question stands

 

dyingdetective: he raises a fair point

 

treblemaker: HE RAISES NOTHING BUT MY STRESS LEVELS

 

treblemaker: kokichi are you okay? like physically?

 

phantomthief: i'm fine!! what, u thought a little car could hurt me?

 

treblemaker: ...YES

 

phantomthief: sooo are you guys always like this?

 

makiroll: Yes.

 

treblemaker: no!! we’re usually much more put together and civilized

 

tittytyphoon: LMFAOOOO

 

makiroll: You’re lying.

 

phantomthief: honestly this is better entertainment than any movie i have ever watched ^u^

 

treblemaker: maki, miu, pls

 

treblemaker: trying to Not scare off the new guy here

 

makiroll: Well, if he’s going to be performing with us, he should know what he’s getting himself into.

 

tittytyphoon: yeah lmfao imagine finding out you were in a choir with US without even knowing it

 

phantomthief: please, i've seen more chaotic groups before ;)

 

beesknees: Gonta is so happy to have someone new to the choir!

 

phantomthief: yes

 

phantomthief: new to the choir

 

phantomthief: is the thing that i am

 

beesknees: Y,,, Yes!!

 

beesknees: Right?? Is Gonta wrong?

 

rhoshi: you’re right gonta

 

magicalgirl: were glad 2 hav u on th team

 

girlkisser: Tenko is glad to have you here too, even if she would have preferred another girl!

 

phantomthief: ??

 

phantomthief: okay i give up am i being hazed??????

 

girlkisser: What do you mean?

 

phantomthief: do you guys count tech crew as part of the choir or smth?

 

phantomthief: because i’m on tech crew

 

makiroll: What?

 

treblemaker: ??

 

dyingdetective: you’re in tech crew?

 

phantomthief: yeah lmao i’m not in the choir

 

dyingdetective: oh my gosh

 

dyingdetective: we thought this whole time you were a new member

 

beesknees: Oh no, Gonta’s sorry!

 

beesknees: Gonta is sure Chihiro and the rest of tech crew will also be happy to have you!

 

magicalgirl: thatz,, awkwrd

 

treblemaker: ...um

 

treblemaker: kokichi

 

treblemaker: you are in the choir

 

treblemaker: your name is right here on the list

 

phantomthief: yeah but isn’t tech crew on that list too??

 

treblemaker: well yeah, but you aren’t listed under tech crew, you're listed under tenors

 

phantomthief: ?

 

treblemaker sent an attachment: [choir_list.jpg]

(Image description: It is a printed out piece of paper with five sections.

 

The first section is titled “Sopranos”, and includes Kirumi Tojo, Angie Yonaga, Miu Iruma, and Himiko Yumeno.

 

The second is titled “Altos”, and includes Shuichi Saihara, Kaede Akamatsu, Tsumugi Shirogane, and Tenko Chabashira.

 

The third is titled “Tenors”, and includes Kaito Momota, Maki Harukawa, Kiibo Katayama, and Kokichi Ouma.

 

The fourth is titled “Basses”, and includes Ryoma Hoshi, Rantaro Amami, Gonta Gokuhara, and Korekiyo Shinguji.

 

The fifth is titled “Tech crew”, and includes Chihiro Fujisaki, Kazuichi Soda, Ibuki Mioda, and Chiaki Nanami.

 

A pink-nailed finger is pointing out Kokichi’s name.)

 

treblemaker: see

 

phantomthief: hmmm, that must be a mistake of some kind because i did not sign up

 

treblemaker: are you sure

 

treblemaker: because everyone has to sign a permission slip and make a financial dedication in order to even get their name on that list

 

phantomthief: well i did all that but it was all for crew :/

 

dyingdetective: … including the financial dedication?

 

phantomthief: of course i did the financial dedication shumai!! do u take me for a cheapskate? >:(

 

dyingdetective: kokichi

 

dyingdetective: there is no financial dedication for tech crew

 

phantomthief: huh

 

dyingdetective: you didn't make a financial dedication for crew, you made one for the choir itself

 

dyingdetective: which you are now a part of

 

phantomthief: .


phantomthief: Huh

Notes:

had to make gonta a bass to make sure the parts were relatively balanced even though he is CLEARLY a tenor >:(

also they're all in their senior year and None of them are straight