Work Text:
It all started with one loud idiot named Sawamura Eijun.
The first string was about to play an intrasquad scrimmage against each other, with Furuya and Sawamura pitching for the first half and later will be relieved by Tanba and Nori
And as usual, no one’s surprised that Sawamura and Furuya had started another screaming match—is it even a screaming match when it’s just Sawamura shouting his lungs out at Furuya who only responded with his flaming aura that somehow burnt the grass—before Sawamura could even take a step on the mound
Miyuki, being the ever reliable (“Reliable? He's nothing but an asshole” snarked the first-string pitchers) pretty boy catcher he was, had been the one to calm the two down. “Don’t waste your energy fighting like this, you idiots. If you wanna fight then take it out on the mound”
Surprisingly enough, it actually shut Sawamura up. But a sense of foreboding crept over the team as they watched Sawamura pitch seriously as if he hadn’t been arguing with Furuya like a stupid five-year-old because what the hell Sawamura actually listened to Miyuki Kazuya for once without arguing back? Baffling.
Three for three and sides changed. It took them all a minute to notice that Sawamura didn’t immediately make his way back to the dugout but lingered around the mound a little longer, digging his cleats onto the dirt as if he was drawing something
And surprise surprise, he was drawing something though the team couldn’t really tell what it was
“Oi Bakamura! Quit playing around and get back here already!”
The southpaw threw Kuramochi a satisfied smile in response as he walked back to the 1st base dugout, still grinning for some reason Seidou didn’t understand as the shortstop put him in a chokehold
It didn’t take long until Furuya took the mound, giving the spot where Sawamura drew a... whatever kind of face he was giving it, Seidou didn’t know exactly, but it was enough to know that Sawamura definitely drew something weird there
What they hadn’t been expecting though was Furuya actually drawing on the mound himself before he turned his focus back to Miyuki who was crouched behind the plate with an exasperated expression on his face that’s saying something along the lines of ‘what the fuck are these pitchers even doing’
It only took an entire match later to find out what the hell was even going on on that mound and oh boy they were so done with these stupid baseball brain pitchers
Top of the fourth, Sawamura eagerly made his way to the mound, practically bouncing over to the spot—that damned spot that just somehow manages to keep their two hot blooded brainless pitchers quiet and actually focus on the game for once—where he and Furuya had been drawing on throughout the entire game so far and—
What the fuck why does Sawamura look like he was ready to murder each one of them with just his eyes alone
They turn to Furuya who actually had a smug smirk on his lips that looked eerily similar to one bespectacled catcher (since when was Furuya even capable of doing that) and Seidou are just stuck wondering what the hell even happened on that mound
They just shrug it off for now, and decided only question the two first years about it if it affects their playing
It was team B’s biggest mistake and team A’s best decision ever because Sawamura just absolutely destroys the next three batters with perfect strikeouts that they all felt goosebumps
Excuse them, what the hell just happened?
Even Kominato fucking Ryousuke looks shocked, his slightly open eyes are gonna give Kuramochi nightmares for weeks but Sawamura doesn’t even remotely look bothered by it
Sawamura stepped off the mound, ignoring the patch of dirt where he had been drawing on earlier while Furuya continued to smirk smugly—seriously what the fuck was up with their pitchers?
Furuya, as if responding to Sawamura’s sudden god like pitching steps up his game too and Miyuki’s torn between feeling glad about the sudden sharpness and control of their pitches and wanting to throw a fucking baseball at their faces as hard as he can
Team B remains unable to hit off Sawamura for the rest of the game until he was switched out for Tanba and the match ends. Everyone finally decides to make their way on the mound and see what the two pitchers had gotten up to earlier and just what the fuck had enabled them to play like that and—
Oh for the fucking love of god they’ve been playing tic tac toe on the fucking mound? This was what made them shut up? This was what enabled that fuckery earlier?!
“What the fuck” Jun says, unsure how to react “Did Sawamoron seriously strike out Tetsu as if it was just a nobody from the boonies in front of him because he fucking lost in tic tac toe?”
“That explains why Furuya was being so smug like that the entire time—”
“Did Sawamura seriously just take out his frustration over loosing at tic tac toe on us—”
“Kuramochi,” Ryousuke calls in the scariest tone they’ve ever heard from the second baseman and Haruichi finds himself praying that his two best friends will stay alive tomorrow. Kuramochi laughs his usual “HYAHAHA!” as he cracks his knuckles and stretches his legs, eyes zeroing on the two pitchers who were busy glaring at each other like they’re gonna murder each other any moment now
“Catch them”
Coach Kataoka could only sigh in exasperation. There was screaming, yelling, the sound of bats being swung, distressed cries of help, cackling, and apologies that echoed through the empty fields and Kataoka was so fucking done with these rowdy highschoolers. Never again is he gonna allow them to do as they please on that fucking mound when they’re nothing but petty loosers
Especially tic tac toe
