Actions

Work Header

Interlude: The Gay Hockey WAGs

Summary:

Kip: Hey, so, Scott is trying to convince me to join the Admirals WAG group chat.

Kip: Help

Kip: The straights are scary

Jane: I don’t know if you’re aware, but I am not an expert on straight people.

Kip: NO I NEED BACKUP

Notes:

This was a lot of fun, but it made me realise that I am very bad at getting in Shane's head. I love him but damn.

Thank again to Atom47 for the beta read, and to "Hockey Shit with Ransom & Holster" (Check Please) for helping me give them all hockey nicknames.

(See the end of the work for more notes.)

Work Text:

Kip: Hey, is it normal for hockey players to watch their own games this obsessively?

Jane: For some. I don’t think Ilya watches his much, but I know others do.

Kip: You know other hockey players? Wait, stupid question, You’re Canadian

Jane: I have even played some hockey.

Kip: Nice. I played some rugby, but it’s hard to find teams in NY

Jane: How did you get into rugby? I thought all American guys get into football.

Kip: Yeah because being gay in football is a cakewalk. Meanwhile, there’s a whole two gay rugby players.

Kip: Well, international ones. Still wasn’t great, but a little less toxic.

Jane: Okay, fair point.

Kip: I swear if we watch Scott losing the puck to that New Jersey guy one more time I’m going to have to take drastic measures.

Jane: Tell me how it goes.

Jane: Wait, don’t. I’ve just remembered what Ilya considers drastic measures.

Kip: I would never kiss and tell.

Jane: How’s Scott doing?

Kip: Alright. Not broken, just sprained. He’s more embarrassed than anything

Jane: Hey, there’s a reason we wear the gloves to play.

Kip: But a pinkie injury?

Kip: At least he can still do everything without me

Kip: School is kicking my ass

Jane: Oh! What are you studying?

Kip: History, Got accepted just before the Stanley Cup

Jane: Nice! Congrats! Or perhaps now, my condolences.

Kip: I’m enjoying not having to pay for accommodation but I also cannot seem to get into a rhythm

Kip: Thinking about heading back to my dad’s to actually finish this assignment

Jane: Why don’t you?

Kip: I don’t wanna hurt Scott’s feelings. I mean, we moved in together like 20mins after we started dating, but he’s never seen academic-me before.

Jane: I’m pretty sure he only cares that you’re happy in your work.

Kip: I know that in theory, but he’s always so sad when I don’t let him pay for stuff or help me with things

Kip: He made up a whole little study space for me in his apartment and everything after I told him that I didn’t want him to pay for anything for school and he was super sad about that but he got over it and now I’m, like, throwing out his offer of a study space too?

Kip: Sorry that was a bit of a dump.

Jane: No, it’s okay. And yeah, pro hockey players like to throw their money around. Have you seen Ilya’s cars?

Kip: Everyone has seen Ilya’s cars, he won’t shut up about it. what, has he bought you a car?

Jane: Haha, no. He mocks my taste in cars because I like to drive something practical instead of flashy. I think he’d buy me something in a heartbeat if he thought I’d actually drive it.

Kip: Okay but how do I tell Scott I don’t like his study space, literally the only thing I actually let him spend his money on for me?

Jane: It’s not that you don’t like the study space, you just need a change of scenery. I mean, plenty of people go to the library to study. Put it to him like how he goes to the rink to watch tapes.

Kip: I guess. I’ll tell you how it goes.

Jane: Do. And tell him I’m rooting for his recovery. So is Ilya, when he stops laughing.

Kip: Maybe I’ll save that part for when he’s feeling less fragile about it 😂

Kip: Hey, so, Scott is trying to convince me to join the Admirals WAG group chat.

Kip: Help

Kip: The straights are scary

Jane: I don’t know if you’re aware, but I am not an expert on straight people.

Kip: NO I NEED BACKUP

Kip: Come with me. Please

Kip: We’re going to candy mountain Charlie

Jane: We’re… what?

Kip: Ok wow I need to tell Ilya that you’re the dinosaur

Kip: It’s a thing from when I was in high school don’t worry about it

Kip: But still I need you

Jane: I’m not an Admirals WAG why would they have me?

Kip: Well, we could pretend you’re with the new rookie?

Kip: Or maybe you’re Carter’s girlfriend

Kip: He’s super private about her so you can stay super private if you want

Jane: OK, but what do I do when Admirals are playing and I’m not rooting for them?

Kip: I’ll cover for you, dw.

Kip: Please

Kip: Pleeeeeease

Kip: Pretty Please

Kip: Please Please Please

Jane: Fine, We go together.

Jane: But if I’m asked I’m not gonna lie.

Kip: YESS I love you

[ADMIRAL WAGs ⚓️]

Kip Grady was added to the chat

Jane R was added to the chat

~ Laura Huff: Hi! So glad to welcome you Kip. And Jane too.

Kip Grady: Hi. Thanks for inviting me

~ Laura Huff: Of course, we’re so delighted that Scott finally told us about you.

~ Sammy Jones: Hi Kip! Welcome 🏳️‍🌈

~ Helen Wagner: Welcome to the madhouse Kip 🏳️‍🌈

~ Laura Krause: Hi Kip (also, call me Laura 2, everyone else does)

Kip Grady: Haha, thank you all for the welcome

~ Natya Johns: Hello! Glad to see you. I am with Egor (13)

~ Laura Huff: Oh yeah, you should all say who you’re with (though I hope for some of us the surnames make it more obvious 😂 ) I’m with Greg (12)

~ Sammy Jones: Muller (29)

~ Helen Wagner: Wagner (77)

~ Laura Krause: Remo Leberg (27) and I assume the rest will show up eventually and you’ll figure them out

~ Laura Krause: There’s 14 WAGs so there’s a lot of us. 16 now, I guess

~ Laura Krause: Wait, Jane. Who are you with?

Kip Grady: Jane will probably be along later but she’s pretty private. Scott knows her though.

~ Laura Krause: Wait hold on does that mean…

~ Laura Huff: Laura 2 hush.

[DM from Laura Huff]

~ Laura Huff: Hey look I know that Scott and Carter are close so if Jane is actually Carter’s top secret girlfriend that’s totally fine, I’ll back you up. But I don’t want random people in the chat.

Kip Grady: I totally get it. I pretty much bullied Jane into joining the chat with me so that I could have some backup because we’ve been talking for ages. Our own mini-WAG chat.

~ Laura Huff: Well, I’m glad you had each other at least. Alright, I’ll vouch. I’m sure ‘Jane’ is the last person I have to warn about things turning up on TMZ

Kip Grady: Oh yeah, that is honestly never going to be a problem from Jane. The rest of you however…

~ Laura Huff: My lips are sealed.

[ADMIRALS WAGs ⚓️]

~ Laura Huff: It’s wonderful to have you join us Jane. Even if it took a while.

Jane R: Hi guys, thanks. I’m not always available so I will probably just read mostly, but it’s always fun to meet new people. Scott promised you were all nice.

Kip Grady: Wait he did? not to me he didn’t…

~ Beth Doyle: Hi!!! 🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍🌈 (sorry, just got back from the school run.)

~ Beth Doyle: Oh, and I’m with Howard Doyle (40)

Kip Grady: thank you everyone for the welcome 😁

Laura Huff contact saved: Laura 1 (note: Fuzzy)

Sammy Jones contact saved: Sammy (note: Mulz)

Natya Johns contact saved: Natya (note: Damsy)

Laura Krause contact saved: Laura 2 (note: Lebz)

Beth Doyle contact saved: Beth (note: Doozy)

Kip: What is going on with the nicknames?

Kip: This feels like everyone is a cartoon character.

Jane: Hockey Nicknames are a special brand of weird, just roll with it.

Jane: I mean, they call Ilya ‘Rozy’

Jane: Not at all confusing for me when I’m dating Rozy and my best friend is Rose

Kip: Why does Scott not have a nickname?

Kip: Does it mean they don’t like him?

Jane: Who knows. Maybe it was too rude and the PR manager nixed it.

Kip: …why are you always right about these things apparently he wasn’t allowed to be “Hussy” in the MLH 😩

Jane: Please never tell Ilya this he will absolutely say it on camera and get both him and Scott in trouble.

Kip: Yep, figured.

[ADMIRALS WAGs ⚓️]

Laura 1: Do we need to change the group name?

Laura 1: I mean, Kip isn’t a Wife or Girlfriend

Kip: I don’t mind it like this, don’t change it on my account

Kip: I could be a WAG if I wanted

Laura 2: No no, this is us being INCLUSIVE

Laura 2: Apparently some of the boys got a talking to by Rozanov

Laura 2: For some reason he had strong feelings about it

Natya: Why does Rozanov keep coming to these events?

Natya: He’s not exactly the type to go to Scott's bar

Kip: He’s actually come to the Kingfisher a fair bit since I started working there. He has been a pretty great friend to Scott since June.

Laura 2: Huh. Didn’t think he had it in him.

Sammy: Did you guys also get the inclusivity speech from your guys?

Sammy: Wait I see you did. Carry on.

Kip: This really doesn’t have to be a big deal…

Jane: I think WAHABAGs

Kip: Jane, I love you, but you’re wrong.

Jane: Okay that wasn’t me ~someone~ stole my phone.

Laura 2: No no, say more Jane

Laura 2: Or whoever is masquerading as Jane.

Jane: Don’t make his head any bigger than it already is.

Laura 1 changed the group name to [ADMIRALS WAHABAGs ⚓]

Jane: There aren't even any H’s in the group.

Sammy: Unless…

Kip: Oh my god guys it’s been a year slow your roll

Sammy: A YEAR Kip, buddy, you gotta lock that down

Kip: I'm focusing on my studies right now, thank you

Jane: Yeah, just because they moved in together on their first date.

Kip: Jane I am going to murder you

Sammy: Oh my god that’s adorable and insane

Laura 1: Yeah honey that’s wild

Beth: Ah good we’re already on it

Beth: Also does anyone know where’s good to take kids in Ottawa, we’re bringing the boys for a long weekend on the away game but we need to entertain them Saturday night.

Jane: There's loads of places up Montreal Road, which is basically next door to the Aviation and Space Museum.

Jane: I assume you’re going to the Space Museum

Beth: Ooh! That'll definitely appeal to Alex. Thanks Jane.

Jane: Have a look around and book - the free admission hour means that sometimes it's crazy busy for dinners.

Beth: I didn't know you knew Ottawa so well!

Jane: Family there.

Beth: I'll take what I can.

Beth: Thanks Jane.

 

Notes:

[Bonus: Deleted scene of Ilya totally hijaking the chat to make Scott insane but also basically outing himself]

Jane: I think WAHABAGs.
Kip: Jane, I love you, but you’re wrong.
Jane: No, is best acronym
Jane: Sounds like start of metal song
Laura 2: Oh my god you’re right
Sammy: That’s in my head now
Jane: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=09LTT0xwdfw
Jane: Is very old song, perhaps only Scott knows
Laura 2: Oh man don’t start, you sound like Rozanov
Jane: 😇
--
This is an interlude bc the series is supposed to be about Scott and Ilya, but Shane can be a WAG. as a treat. I also used this as an opportunity to outline the entire Admirals roster AND give them all WAGs - there are only 5 here, but I know all their names in my heart (and their children's names).
I have also signed up for the Hollanov Big Bang so this series might slow down a touch as I write side-by-side, but I'm having waaay too much fun to put it down.

I have a HR fic sharing discord server! Come and join and share your works with some cool cats!

Series this work belongs to: