Chapter Text
r/relationship_advice
(UPDATE) I (M) am trying to figure out how to introduce my boyfriend (M) to my overprotective family. Advice?
Submitted one week ago by u/throwra-oldrbf
So I technically don’t need to post this on a throw away anymore (my whole family knows) but I thought I would give you guys an update and answer some faq that I did not get to in the comments! Also the partner read the post and told me bf sounds wierd for his age I did make fun of him for that but imma change between bf and partner
First some answers!
- I was not groomed guys I promise you, I met my partner when I was 17 almost 18 and hated him until I was 22 when we gained an okay mutual respect and at 22 we started hooking up and we got together when I was 24! The hatred was also very mutual on both sides minus one time he asked me to come work for him which I turned down :) I promise I am okay
- I was asked if he is rich which not really anyones buisness but.. yes but it’s fine so am I lmaooo
- I was also asked if we are both famous, we would be reconlizable online more him then me which is why he has zero social media prescene
- Someone asked exact ages which fair but I am currently 27 and he is 65 :)
- Someone made a joke about our sex life and I would say something but my youngest brother now knows about this account and I… am not gonna say anything specific but it is good
Now! Onto dinner!
So we got home and my grandfather answered the door and he abosluetly knew that we were dating. he was very good to my partner and asked some great questions and I think threatened him but it’s fine went good on that front! Well it went… downhill from there. We went into the dining room my brothers H and C (22M and 18M) Saw us enter first, our seats were also beside H and my dad so oh boy. H and C immidently started yelling and that made my other family members (R (13M), B (18F), and my dad (42M)) as well as some family friends (O (26F) and S (19F)) turn around and also start questioning me, minus O who already knew. I introduced my bf (D (65M)) to them through the yelling. Eventually everyone calmed down mostly because I threatened to leave and my dad got everyone to quiet down. Dinner was very long (my grandpa does a lot of cooking and H helps, so it was like four courses) and conversation was very silted. I was right that R was going to try to stab him, he threw a knife which my bf caught (hot). H also did threaten him a few times but I cut him off each time cause I just wanted to get through dinner.
We talked a bit about life stuff before my dad started grilling my bf on his work which was annoying. Eventually I had to stop him from that line of questioning cause everyone was getting very agitated again. My sister was signing under the table to her gf, S, which sucked cause I could not see what they were talking about despite knowing sign. Eventually they stopped and B was actually the nicest to him all dinner. H did threaten to leave which our grandpa just asked him to please stay and he folded like a desk of cards.
Otherwise nothing super interesting happend! Just a very quiet dinner with ocasional yelling and questionings and asking if I was mind controled yaddah yaddah yaddah.
But we got home with only one or two threats as we left and a tracking device C put in my shoes :( He knows where I live I do not know why he needed to do that
I showed partner this post and he laughed at me and called me pretty
So overall dinner went well ! Way better then it could have gone cause I was a bit scared H was gonna full on attack him and R only tried to stab him once! So lots of wins all over is what I am saying :)
Thanks Reddit and once again I promise I am very safe and in a healthy loving realtionship <3
-----
All 205 comments - Sorted by best
u/gotham-gurrrlll: …. I think if I say what i wanna say i’m gonna get called a conspiercy theorist
↳ Open 23 other comments
u/guns-and-books: Comment removed by auto-mod
↳ Open 34 other comments
↳ u/guns-and-books: Comment removed by auto-mod
↳ u/guns-and-books: Comment removed by auto-mod
u/guns-and-books: ‘It went well’ for you maybe. I, however, have a new hitlist
↳ u/throwra-oldrbf: :( Please dont
↳ u/guns-and-books: Too bad fuck you
↳ Open 19 other comments
↳ u/bird-fan: ????????????? Red Hood???????????????
u/gotham-bird-pod: Oh my god
u/extended-time: I really think you need to break up with your grossly old bf, it’s obvious no one in your family likes him which is understandable and I really think you need to get into therapy! Having known him since you were a minor? Also your dad is 20 years younger then him? Also?? You dad had you when he was 15? I think your whole family needs therapy.
↳ u/throwra-oldrbf: I was not groomed, yes my dad is 20 years younger then my bf, no my dad did not have me at 15 I am adopted :) Also most of us are in therapy as our work gives us acsess to free vetted threapists! I am 100% on board for therapy!
↳ u/guns-andbooks: This comment has been removed by automod
↳ Open 20 other comments
↳ u/gotham-bird-pod: Oh my god
u/vain-mirror: Why does this typping style seem completely different?
↳ u/throwra-oldrbf: I tried to type more formally the first time and double checked stuff cause i was hoping it thow my friends off of this being me lol, i type super infomal and care very little about punctuation bc it takes too much time ot think about also im dyslexic :) it took me like 2 hours to type the last one out this one took me 30 min
Open 96 other comments
