Actions

Work Header

the party, extended edition

Summary:

mikewheeler: This is everyone’s formal invitation to join the party

mikewheeler: If you want in

unknown number 1 changed name to madmaxxx

madmaxxx: so what do you losers do anyway?

 

modern au texting fic between the stranger things characters. I don't really know where this is going, we'll see what happens.
(don't expect regular updates or anything like that from me)
we're gonna pretend all the younger kids are freshman (minus erica) and all the older kids are seniors. everyone's alive except billy I think, and eleven grew up in a cult bc I'm not working with all that upside down lore:)

Notes:

feel free to let me know of anything wrong/bad/misspelled/grammatically incorrect and I'll fix it if I need to!

first try at a texting fic so good luck lol

(See the end of the work for more notes.)

Chapter 1: just trying to protect your pride

Chapter Text

Friday, November 27
4:31 P.M.

new chat created by mikewheeler

the party, extended edition
mikewheeler, dustinisthebest, willthewiser, ballerlucas8, unknown number

mikewheeler: Here’s a gc with El since she wasn’t in the other one

willthewiser: yayayay

willthewiser: is that her number then?

mikewheeler: Yeah it should be

unknown number: spoiler alert it’s not

unknown number: who is this and why am I in this gc?

ballerlucas8: ha Mike you really thought you had it right this time

ballerlucas8: this man really can’t copy down a number or something

mikewheeler: Oh no I’m sorry dude, you can leave

mikewheeler: I didn’t mean to add you

dustinisthebest: maybe it’s someone cool

dustinisthebest: do you play dungeons and dragons?

dustinisthebest: if you hate gamers then you better leave

unknown number: I’ve never played dungeons and dragons

unknown number: I’m not a dude

unknown number: and I’m definitely cool

willthewiser: what do you do all the time if you don’t play dungeons and dragons?

willthewiser: if you do art that qualifies as cool too

unknown number: I skate

unknown number: and game, but none of that live rp stuff

dustinisthebest: game of choice?

unknown number: legend of zelda

unknown number: smash bros when I feel like it

ballerlucas8: solid choices

willthewiser: I love zelda!!!

dustinisthebest: who do you main on smash?

unknown number: king rool

mikewheeler: That’s my character!!!

unknown number: I bet I could beat you at it

ballerlucas8: WOOAHHHHHH

ballerlucas8: A DUEL AIMED AT A MEMBER OF THE PARTY

ballerlucas8: ACTION MUST BE TAKEN

dustinisthebest: there’s no way you can beat Mike he’s the og smash player

dustinisthebest: none of us ever even get close and we’re true gamers

unknown number: try me

dustinisthebest: just trying to protect your pride

willthewiser: no way a duel

willthewiser: time and place?

mikewheeler: we don’t even know where this girl lives

mikewheeler: girl right?

unknown number: yes girl

unknown number: I live in Indiana

willthewiser: US TOO aadfaskflkrjtlkjg

willthewiser: like central Indiana?

unknown number: Hawkins

ballerlucas8: US TOO

ballerlucas8: this is crazy

ballerlucas8: are you in high school?

unknown number: yeah duh

willthewiser: no way

dustinisthebest: what are the chances that the wrong number Mike types is a girl in Hawkins who games

willthewiser: literally astronomical

unknown number: you losers free for this game tmrw

unknown number: no basketball game right lucas

ballerlucas8: HOW DOES SHE KNOW WHO I AM

dustinisthebest: what is going on

unknown number: you guys are so obvious

unknown number: mike’s house then?

dustinisthebest: holy shit

mikewheeler: You’re on

mikewheeler: 7 at my house

unknown number: you’re on

 

Saturday, November 28
7:07 P.M.

the party
dustinisthebest, mikewheeler, willthewiser, and ballerlucas8

dustinisthebest: holy shit

willthewiser: for once I agree

ballerlucas8: Max is a gamer???

mikewheeler: She won’t beat me right?

willthewiser: I doubt it

ballerlucas8: there’s no way man

ballerlucas8: you’ve been playing for so long

ballerlucas8: it’s in the bag

mikewheeler: right

 

Saturday, November 28
8:41 P.M.

the party, extended edition

group chat deleted by creator, mikewheeler

 

Saturday, November 28
8:49 P.M.

the party

mikewheeler: I can never play smash again

dustinisthebest: HOLY SHIT!!!!

willthewiser: that was insane

willthewiser: not a single game

dustinisthebest: how is she so good?

ballerlucas8: she must play all the time

mikewheeler: Probably because she has no friends

willthewiser: that’s kinda mean mike

mikewheeler: It’s true though

mikewheeler: Do you ever see her with anyone at school?

ballerlucas8: maybe we should invite her to join the party

mikewheeler: NO

mikewheeler: Are you crazy??

mikewheeler: We can’t just invite some outsider into the party!!!

ballerlucas8: you have to admit she would be a good addition, she’s literally an epic player

ballerlucas8: plus she’s really pretty

willthewiser: ew lucas

ballerlucas8: it’s true

dustinisthebest: not as pretty as suzie

mikewheeler: Shut up about the girls

mikewheeler: This is serious

ballerlucas8: this actually all started because you were adding a girl to the gc

ballerlucas8: so actually maybe we should talk about the girls

willthewiser: ew

dustinisthebest: yeah I bet eleven would like her

mikewheeler: Ugh

mikewheeler: You guys seriously want to hang out with her

ballerlucas8: yeah, she’s really cool

dustinisthebest: she seems funny

willthewiser: and she’s nice

mikewheeler: Ok fine I guess

mikewheeler: I’ll make a new chat

 

Saturday, November 28
9:11 P.M.

new chat created by mikewheeler

the party, extended edition
mikewheeler, dustinisthebest, willthewiser, ballerlucas8, unknown number (2)

mikewheeler: This is everyone’s formal invitation to join the party

mikewheeler: If you want in

unknown number 2 changed name to janehopper11

janehopper11: Of course I want to be in the party!

unknown number 1 changed name to madmaxxx

madmaxxx: guess so

madmaxxx: so what do you losers do anyway?