Work Text:
3.6k
r/AmITheVillain · Posted by u/not-in-my-house 6 hours ago.
AITV for telling my daughter she can’t date a vigilante?
[new]
I (49M) forbade my daughter “Jane” (21F) from dating a vigilante (22ish?M). For context: recently, my daughter was saved by a vigilante whom I won’t name, but I will hunt down if I find out he showed up at her window AGAIN. Now I understand her being grateful to him for saving her from a collapsing building during a bank heist, but this is really pushing it. From what I know, they ran into each other a few more times after that and hit it off. The next thing I know, my daughter invites me out for dinner and tells me that she’s been getting to know him, and they’ve started dating. She must have been looking for my approval, but I just won't tolerate that! I gave her a stern talking to because, quite frankly, she’s putting herself and our whole family by extension in danger by associating with a well-known vigilante. Before I know it, I’m going to have the Joker knocking on my door at 3 am.
I already got one hell of a fright when I heard something go bump in the night the other day when she was staying over. I was worried someone had come for Jane, so I burst into her room and found a certain vigilante halfway through her window!!
I get that she’s taken with this guy, but as her father, I just can't let her endanger herself like that. Of course, to make things worse, Jane had to bring her mother into this. Her mother, as always, stood by her side and opposed me. She told me I had no business telling our adult daughter who she could or couldn’t date! This all spiraled out of control, and now the whole family’s involved and taking sides, telling me I’m a helicopter parent or too controlling when all I’m doing is making sure Jane is safe.
Am I the Villain for telling my daughter she can’t date a vigilante?
40 comments
Share
Save
Hide
Report
68% Upvoted
What are your thoughts? Log in or Sign up log in sign up
Sort by relevance
u/midnight-lassy0129 points · 1 hour ago
OP you need to tell your daughter to back off of MY man
Vote
Reply
Share
Report
Save
u/NightWingsBigToe31 points · 46 mins ago
Your man?? That's our man
Vote
Reply
Share
Report
Save
u/SpoilerAlert37 points · 39 mins ago
LMAO LOOK AT WHAT HE GOT HIMSELF INTO
Vote
Reply
Share
Report
Save
u/i-see-all56 points · 34 mins ago
Did you SEE the comments I'm dyingg
Vote
Reply
Share
Report
Save
u/coffee-sleuth59 points · 29 mins ago
Someone show him this PLEASE
Vote
Reply
Share
Report
Save
u/BatClubPrez35 points · 25 mins ago
I second that!!
Vote
Reply
Share
Report
Save
u/red23 points · 14 mins ago
It has to be done…
Vote
Reply
Share
Report
Save
u/robin-banks26 points · 9 mins ago
NO ONE SHOW BATS
Vote
Reply
Share
Report
Save

u/HumbleGothamite 13 points · 3 hours ago
OP is NTV here, it’s Gotham, you never know what’s gonna happen if you get involved with the vigilante crowd, you were obviously just concerned about the danger this would put your family in
u/tiredgamer 32 points · 2 hours ago
YTV, this reeks of entitled parenting. Don’t expect your kids to visit when they put you in a nursing home
u/psycholo-tea 37 points · 3 hours ago
Your daughter is a whole adult with her own thoughts and feelings, maybe you should consider those before making her life all about you… YTV
u/support-womens-wrongs24 points · 3 hours ago
YTV you definitely should not be trying to control your kids' dating life like this, and you can't be mad about the situation spiraling out of control and affecting you when you’re the one who started it in the first place..
u/MiddlingMacaroni24 points · 4 hours ago
I agree with this, OP needs to grow up and take responsibility for starting shit
u/git-gud42 points · 4 hours ago
What the fuck is everyone else here ON? You’re NOT the villain here, Jane, dating a well-known vigilante is 200% just going to get her kidnapped and traumatized
u/gotham-gourmet39 points · 4 hours ago
Wait, is this about who I think it is?? Idk about dating a vigilante in general, but dating THAT vigilante is a total no-no. Everyone knows he flirts with everyone he rescues
u/tt-throwaway25 points · 3 hours ago
I can’t think of many vigilantes in our area who are known for being flirty, this has gotta be him, right?
u/penguin-is-king24 points · 3 hours ago
Tbh, maybe the daughter is just delusional about her relationship with him? We all know that he’s a huge flirt. She probably just way misinterpreted his flirting when she ran into him again
u/xXBatLuvrXx12 points · 3 hours ago
Okay but if not? Lowkey fucked up that he’s still flirting with EVERYONE while in a relationship… total dick move
u/DoTheButtsMatch7 points · 2 hours ago
WHY IS NOONE SAYING WHO ITS ABOUT IM GOING INSANE
u/BatFanclubPrez43 points · 2 hours ago
If you don’t know, you’re not in deep enough bestie
1 more reply