Work Text:
4.5k
r/AmITheVillain · Posted by u/farm-hand-throaway 7 hours ago.
AITV for writing mean articles about my vigilante bf’s secret identity when we get into a fight
[new]
So I (26M) am in a relationship with a fellow vigilante, “Brian” (30M). In everyday life, my partner is a public figure, and I am a reporter. Though we are now aware of each other's respective civilian identities, our civilian identities are not in a public relationship (we have our reasons). Since we’ve been trying to keep our relationship out of the public eye, we often spend time together as vigilantes/heroes. My partner is a very private person, but we’ve told a few close friends and colleagues about our relationship, and that’s good enough for the both of us.
I'm going off topic, anyways, we bicker quite a bit, especially since we started working together, and every once in a while, our bickering turns into a bit of a fight. One time after a particularly bad one, I went home angry and wrote a slightly mean-spirited article critical of my partner's civilian identity. In my mind, it was a way to vent my emotions without taking them out on anyone, and I hadn’t planned to post it at all. This became a bit of a habit, and over the past few months, I have written a handful of these articles.
Here’s where it got out of hand: I’m very good friends with one of my colleagues and lent her my laptop to finish off an important article. It seems she found one of the articles sitting on my desktop, had a read through of it, and sent it along to our editor, along with hers.
So it got published… I expected Brian to be angry, but he was surprisingly chill about it. He even commented about how it helped distance our vigilante and civilian identities. Maybe that gave me the wrong idea, cause I took that as an okay to write (and publish)more of them over time... and I did.
Not instantly, but slowly over time, I wrote and published a handful more. Apparently, 1 is fine, 2 is a-okay, but 4 is pushing it. When I posted that 4th one, let’s say Brian wasn't happy. He was pretty angry actually. He told me I should tell him how I feel instead of venting my emotions in mean articles about him, and that I was harming his reputation. I don’t know where I crossed the line here from what I thought was an in-joke, so who’s the villain here?
Am I the villain for writing mean articles about my vigilante bf’s civilian identity
40 comments
Share
Save
Hide
Report
68% Upvoted
What are your thoughts? Log in or Sign up log in sign up
Sort by relevance

u/oraclefan1017 points · 6 hours ago
Yeah, idk you might be TV here, it seems like he was okay with it at first, but I'm guessing the repeated slander got to him. Maybe if you communicated better, it wouldn't have become an issue in the first place
u/penguin-is-king34 points · 6 hours ago
YTV publishing mean articles about your literal bf is INSANE, how could you expect that to end any other way but badly??
u/LexLuthorsBBG39 points · 6 hours ago
I hope your bf leaves you OP, he was chill about it, but you taking that as permission to literally talk shit about him to the world is such a red flag
u/sleepysnorlax29 points · 5 hours ago
NTV, if you’re bf is acting in a way that's even giving you material to write a ‘mean’ article about him, then it’s deserved
u/PlanetArt29 points · 5 hours ago
Yeah fr anyone could've written those articles if the info is just out there…
u/BruceManTruther23 points · 5 hours ago
And what's the bf doing that's so bad you can write 4 articles about it?? like maybe at that point, breakup
u/LL-throwaway3 points · 5 hours ago
To be honest, this brings up a lot of questions about Journalistic integrity??? We can’t just have reporters slandering people because of personal bias
u/classic-couture7 points · 4 hours ago
Yeah 100%, OP is already biased because of his relationship with “Brian”, he should not be writing about him at all, even if they're not publicly dating
u/metro-me27 points · 4 hours ago
NTV ‘Brian’ acted like he was okay with it and never said anything about it until he decided he had enough. He should’ve established his boundaries before freaking out on you
u/HabaneroSamurai22 points · 4 hours ago
OP How the fuck do you ACCIDENTALLY get an article published??
u/HelloKittySoPretty20 points · 4 hours ago
OP really left it on his desktop T-T
u/SpoonChaos17 points · 4 hours ago
I hope his friend finds this thread lmao
u/SpoilerAlert34 points · 3 hours ago
OH SO THIS IS WHY YOU’RE DOING THAT
u/CoffeeSleuth42 points · 3 hours ago
FRR I was wondering what was up with that?? Cause i totally figured out they were secretly dating, but the articles made me reconsider all that
u/i-see-all47 points · 3 hours ago
B is totally gonna find this
u/farm-hand-throaway47 points · 3 hours ago
Not if none of y’all show him he’s not
u/robin-banks39 points · 2 hours ago
Should’ve thought about that before you made the post! Welcome to the family
u/bigblue3433 points · 2 hours ago
Ngl this is fucking hilarious?? WDYM you post articles about your boyfriend sucking when you're mad at him T-T
u/curious-coconut33 points · 2 hours ago
RIGHT like I need to read these articles!! What is he saying about him!
u/sillykitty17 points · 1 hour ago
Like is he straight up SLANDERING HIM?? Making shit up, or just being a bit critical of him.. If he’s slandering him, over what?? AND WHY ARE THEY DATING IF HE CAN WRITE FOUR SLANDEROUS ARTICLES ON HIM
u/SupermansLittleMeowMeow14 points · 49 mins ago
I dont care who the villain is i just want answers!!!
u/regular-attorney11 points · 43 mins ago
Too bad releasing them would reveal him and his bf are vigilantes
u/yuri-is-my-kryptonite14 points · 37 mins ago
OP release the articles we can keep a secret please please please
u/farm-hand-throaway47 points · 37 mins ago
No siree, not happening!
u/yuri-is-my-kryptonite14 points · 37 mins ago
Please please please
1 more reply