Actions

Work Header

You got (a ton) unread messages

Summary:

The truth is out, everyone knows about Shane and Ilya, the league reacted as they expected and now Ilya has to turn on his phone, and as expected a lot of people have texted.

(Set during TLG- Just a series of chats during the day of the Fanmail incident)

Notes:

I tried to understand how work skins work and make this into one of those cool text fics you guys post but I was just unable. I might try again later but for now I just wanted to post it. Hope you still enjoy it.

Work Text:

Game Changers Camp Official Group Chat

Leah: Are we really not talking about it?

Wyatt: Trying to give them a little breathing room.

Max: I already wrote to them but they probably want to keep as far from social media as possible

Max: Ilya and Shane, just so you know we are all here for you

Max: I know it’s an awful situation but I'm also very happy for you.

Wyatt: I called both of them too but I guess their phones are off

Wyatt: to be honest, smart move

Wyatt: Hayden, how are you doing too?

Hayden: I feel like shit

Hayden: I just came back from their house

Hayden: I want to punch myself after how nice Rozanov was

Hayden: To be honest I would have preferred if he had dragged me down as usual

Ryan: What happened?

Max: oh, to be as blissfully disconnected from hockey as you Pricey

Max has sent a link

Ryan: Sorry guys

Ryan: I know you might feel awful right now

Ryan: I’m not sure what to say but if you need anything I’m here to help

Ryan: Fabian here, WHAT THE ACTUAL FUCK?

Ryan: And I don’t mean that they are together, we already knew that.

Ryan: Just how in the world did you even manage to keep the secret this long if you keep kissing like that in public?

Ryan: At this point it’s not even Hayden’s fault. 

Ryan: Also, RESPECT, great kiss.

Max: you knew?

Leah: you knew?

Wyatt: You knew?!?!?

Ryan: Yes

Ryan: Ran into them making up during my first year at camp 

Ryan: very awkward situation

Wyatt: Oh my good, how long have they been going at it?

Ryan: For what they told us, 10 years, give it or take it.

Wyatt: ARE

Wyatt: YOU

Wyatt: FUCKING

Wyatt: KIDDING

Wyatt: ME

Wyatt: Fuck, Roz was wearing a ring the other day in the locker room

Wyatt: Do you think…???

Ryan: I don’t know

 

Hazzy

Wyatt: Hey Roz

Wyatt: I’m not asking how you doing because, fuck, this is real bulshit.

Wyatt: Man, you got outed by some random man on the internet and the league benches you for it?

Wyatt: It's so unfair!

Wyatt: If it counts for something everyone here is mad on your behalf

Wyatt: We support you

Wyatt: Both of you

Wyatt: And we’ll hold the fort till you return to the ice for the playoffs

 

Ottawa Centaurs Official Group Chat

Boodram: Hey Roz, coach just told us everything

Boodram: I was thinking about calling you directly but I think this should be said in front of everybody

Boodram: Figuratively speaking

Dykstra: What Bood means is the league is full of shit for benching you and I guess Hollander too

Dykstra: But we don’t give a fuck what Crowell think, you are still our cap and we have your back

Haas: This is so unfair, like something awful happened to you and on top of that you are being punished for it.

Holmberg: I’m a little hurt you never told us you were dating Hollander

LaPointe: In hindsight it was a little obvious

Barrett: Obvious my ass

Barrett: And stop gossiping, Roz will talk to us when he feels ready

Barrett: Roz, just know we got your back

Barrett: And if you are planning vengeance, Harris already has like 5 plans listed and is only waiting for your approval.

 

Troy

Troy: Hey Roz

Troy: Fuck, I don’t know what to say

Troy: The other day when we talked about how difficult would be for you to come out

Troy: Shit, you weren’t kidding

Troy: The reaction to the video has been stupidly huge

Troy: Harris has been on damage control all morning

Troy: Fuck, didn’t want to sound like that

Troy: it’s not so awful… just normal social media

Troy: There is idiots tearing you two down but there is also a lot of support

Troy: and the team is being very good about it

Troy: and we’ll miss you on the road

Troy: Everyone expects you to bring Hollander to Bood's next barbeque

Troy: When we win the cup maybe?

 

Harris

Harris: Hey Roz, how are you and Shane holding?

Harris: Being outed like that must be awful

Harris: Having so many people have opinions about your relationship and all

Harris: but you know what? Fuck it

Harris: I’m happy you have someone like that by your side

Harris: And you have friends supporting you too

Harris: also Troy told me he might have made you think that the social media situation is harsh

Harris: so I want to reassure you it’s nothing huge

Harris: I’ll send you some of the best comments later, you’ll be surprised about how supportive the centaurs fanbase can be.

 

Yuna

Yuna: I just called Shane

Yuna: How are you doing?

Yuna: I guess you are driving so I preferred texting.

Yuna: David and I will take care of Shane so don’t worry

Yuna: Have a nice game tomorrow

Yuna: I hope your team takes it well

Yuna: If not, they’ll have to deal with me

Yuna: Remember we love you and we are here for you.

Ilya: Thanks

Ilya: I’m still processing I guess

Ilya: My coach just left. I’m benched but he will fight any other sanction.

Ilya: Could been way worse.

 

My favorite gays

Rose: How are you holding guys?

Rose: I called Shane but I guess your phones are off for the day

Rose: Good call

Rose: I have a good PR lawyer, if you want to take action against the guy who leaked it.

Rose: And Ilya, I’m not above being an accomplice…if you want to murder the guy I can say you two were visiting me, I'm pretty convincing.



Sveta

Svetlana: Saw what happened

Svetlana: utter bulshit

Svetlana: They are saying you arranged games and stuff

Svetlana: Like you needed that, please

Svetlana: Hockey media my ass, just a bunch of tabloid journalists pretending to know shit about hockey.

Svetlana: Call me back Ilusha. I’m worried about you.

 

Montreal’s 15th best player

Hayden: Are you with Shane?

Hayden: He was sent home by the coach

Hayden: And his phone is off

Hayden: I’m worried, he shouldn’t be alone right now

Hayden: Fuck

Hayden: I just checked. You guys have an away game tomorrow.

Hayden: I’ll see if Jackie can go check up on him.

Ilya: Don’t worry

Ilya: Yuna and David are with him right now

Hayden: How did your team take it?

Ilya: My coach went to my house so I didn’t see anybody else. He was good though

Hayden: Something good at least

Hayden: Montreal is a shitshow

Hayden: Not even J.J. is on Shane’s bench

Hayden: and Theriault is a jerk

Hayden: please keep me updated…as much as you can

Hayden: I’m really worried about Shane.

 

David

David: How are you doing? 

David: We haven’t heard from you all day and Shane is locked up in his room. 

David: Yuna and I are worried about you having to deal with this alone.

David: You don’t need to answer

David: But we are here for you two, we love you

Ilya: Haven’t cried all day but this might make me.

Ilya: I’m holding as well as I can, Anya helps a lot.

Ilya: I booked an emergency appointment with my therapist

Ilya: A lot of friends have reached out too.

Ilya: You guys focus on Shane, I’m ok.

Ilya: I love you too

 

Ilya looked at his phone, finally silent. 

Shane had asked him to turn it off before leaving his apartment. He had been scared that he might receive some upsetting message that would distract him on the road. Normally Ilya would  have argued that he was a good driver and would never do that but considering how devastated his boyfriend had looked about letting him go he decided to obey.

He kind of forgot about it till after coach Wiebe left and he remembered he needed to cancel Anya’s hotel appointment.

He received an onslaught of messages, it was kind of overwhelming but also so good.

He decided he’d only respond to a few, the ones he felt ready to.

He knew everybody would understand.

It was strange, even with all the world seemingly coming down on him he felt calm. Like it didn’t matter because everything was going to be ok.