Work Text:
“This is so stupid.” Bakugou protests, folding his arms childishly while scowling totally not childishly. “I don’t wanna go with you losers! I’m not coming at all!”
“Please, Bakubro?” Kirishima clasps his hands together, pulling his best puppy dog eyes. “It’ll be super duper fun, you’ll have tons of fun, everyone’ll be there, you’ll have a blast! No pun intended.”
Bakugou rolls his scarlet red eyes as Kirishima giggles at his own joke. “Grow up.”
“Please?” Kirishima continues to beg. “Please, please, please?”
“God, what are you, a five year old?” Bakugou growls. “The answer is still no, and you can’t say a thing to convince me to go!”
“No, please bro! It won’t be the same without you!”
“Well too fucking bad. Camping’s for children anyway.” Bakugou replies, starting to walk away. “I’m going to my room, don’t disturb me or else.”
“Wait! They’re gonna provide, like, everything so all you need is to bring is some clothes, food, and… uh… your charger?” Kirishima scratches his head as he tries to think. “Um… your stuffed teddy?”
“I DON’T HAVE A FUCKING TEDDY BEAR, YOU FUCKING IDIOT!” Bakugou turned around and exploded. Literally. Kirishima hardened himself to prevent actual damage. “Fucking….” Bakugou growls and stalks away once again. “Forget that stupid thing. I need to focus on becoming a hero, not some dumb hipster.”
“But-but, Bakurbo! There’ll be marshmallows and bonfires! Hide and seek!” Kirishima lists off desperately. He watches anxiously as Bakugou continues to walk away, uninterested. “Spin the bottle! Truth or dare! Epic storytelling and ghosts! Midoriya’s coming too! Uhh, manly football?”
Kirishima knew he listed at least one thing right, because Bakugou clearly perked up as he stopped in his tracks. After seemingly weighing his options, Bakugou turned around, not quite meeting Kirishima’s gaze as he normally would. Instead, his eyes are downcast as if he’s shy or something. What an absurd idea--Bakugou being shy.
When he spoke, his voice was gruff yet quiet and he had the slightest blush on his face. “Fine, fine, fine! Goddamn, stop being so annoying already. It better be what you promise. Or else.”
With that very unthreatening threat, Bakugou turns around and resumes walking away.
Kirishima grins at Bakugou’s retreating figure, silently congratulating himself for being so damn smart. He should become a professional persuader, if that’s a thing. Ah… lawyers.
No one can resist epic ghost stories, after all.
Kirishima runs back to where the rest of the squad is, whooping loudly. “Bakubro is coming with us!”
The rest of the squad cheers along with him, congratulating him for convincing the explosive boy. This camping trip will definitely be one the most amazingest, funnest, most brilliant thing class 1-A would ever achieve!
“Is everyone present?” Iida asks, his eyes sweeping around the crowd. He counted in his head and mentally checked people off, while Uraraka next to him did the same but with a physical clipboard.
The two are in charge of making sure everyone that’s going is present, before leaving in a borrowed school bus. They had to pull several strings to get permission to use said bus, since it was the fastest and easiest mode of transportation. After all, they’re all baby teenagers in which most haven’t learned to drive yet. Only Todoroki, Yaoyorozu, Iida, Bakugou, and Jirou had their own cars. Notice how it’s the rich people and then… uh, the rest.
“Uh, where’s Deku?” Uraraka asks after noticing his unchecked name. “I thought he was coming too… oh, and Bakugou and Kirishima are also not here. Huh…?”
“Perhaps they changed their minds?” Iida suggested thoughtfully. He glanced at the time and straightened up. “Anyway, everyone else is present and I did say we will leave at three-thirty sharp.”
“Iida, it’s still three twenty-five. Besides, Deku wouldn’t just change his mind at the last minute like this. He would’ve told us or something.” Uraraka pouts, scanning the class in hopes of seeing familiar soft green hair. Her shoulders slumped in obvious disappointment when she didn’t see them anywhere.
Iida stares at the much smaller girl before him. He had a strange feeling of wanting to make her feel better, to not be so sad at the absence of Deku, to smile once again. Iida shook the random feeling away, opting to instead focus on his duty as class president.
“We’re going to have to leave Deku, Bakugou, and Kirishima behind in a few minutes,” Iida informed her, clearing his throat after his usually straight-forward voice cracked twice.
“Can’t we… wait a bit longer?”
Iida looked confused. “We are currently waiting, yes.”
Uraraka smiled at him, briefly forgetting the situation. “No, silly. If Deku doesn’t show up, can’t we wait just a teensy bit longer? Besides, people are still loading their bags. I haven’t even started!”
Iida sighs when he realized what that meant. “Alright, but only because Midoriya is our great friend whom we will allow to bend the rules a bit!”
Uraraka laughed at his antics and turned to the back of the bus. “Thanks, you’re the best!” She flashed him a thumbs-up before getting in line to load her bags.
Iida forced his eyes to tear away from the beautiful smile he received, and scolded his heart for beating so fast. He shook his head and tried to look out for Midoriya, but instead found himself sneaking glances at Uraraka.
What a strange feeling he's experiencing. Is this what friends feel when they’re closer, in terms of relationships?
Suddenly, Iida began to shake uncontrollably, his entire body vibrating as a sound rings from his pants.
The other students, at least those who don’t know him that well, screamed in shock of Iida’s sudden and rapid vibrating.
Iida pulled out his phone and immediately stopped shaking. “Hello, this is Iida Tenya speaking!”
The class sighs in relief while others laugh. Iida paid them no attention as he listened to the caller, who coincidentally is Kirishima.
“Wassup, Class Pretz!” Kirishima’s voice rang clearly and only a bit staticky, despite the speaker option being off.
“Is there a problem, Kirishima?” Iida asks. Perhaps that would explain why the three of them are not here; because they happen to get caught up in some villainy situation.
“Huh? Oh, nonono! Uh, I slept late and forgot I was supposed to be Bakubro’s alarm clock.” After a moment of silence, Kirishima continues sheepishly. “So because of that, he yelled at me for, like, five minutes and he’s helping me pack because I forgot to.”
Iida sighs, not knowing where to even begin. “Does… does Bakugou have his stuff ready?”
“Of course, dude!” Kirishima said instantly.
“I told him about it, he says he’s not going, I persuaded him with my manly persuasive voice, and he packed, like, everything the same night!” Kirishima chuckled. “And here I am, getting his help even though I knew about this like three weeks ago.”
Iida blinked. “Alright then… where’s Deku?”
Kirishima paused on the other line, and Iida wondered for a second if Kirishima had hung up. Then Kirishima’s voice came back with a low “ooooh” of remembering something.
“Oh yeah…. Bakubro was supposed to be ‘Dori’s alarm clock, but since I’m his alarm clock, he-“
“Alright I get it,” Iida interrupts before Kirishima could go into that loop again. “Er, does Midoriya have all his stuff?”
“Yup!”
Iida sighs. “That’s a relief, perhaps you’ll have time to-“
“Buuut he panicked and took out everything to make sure they’re all in there, and since he’s panicked, he’s not putting them all neatly like before so his stuff doesn't fit anymore. Also, he’s bringing lots of All Might merch.”
Kirishima’s voice became tinier, as if he’s talking to someone else with the mic moved away from him.
Iida could barely manage to hear: “Dori’, you can’t just bring an All Might plushy, what are you doing with it? …….alright-....uh…..all might…. no-....” and among several other things
Iida groans. He didn’t realize planning field trips are this… bothersome. Or perhaps it’s just Kirishima’s clumsy nature. Then again, Iida would sooner expect this behavior from Kaminari than Kirishima. Either way, they’re getting in the way of what’s supposed to be a fun camping trip!
“J-just tell him to stop worrying and that it’ll all be alright!” Iida told the other boy. “If you guys are not here by thirty, then I’m afraid we will have to leave you guys behind. If you like, I can give you the address of the camp.”
Kirishima gasped from the other line. “But Iida! It’s currently three twenty-seven! You’re only giving us like five minutes and I’m not ready!”
“Three minutes,” Iida corrects, “and just take the train or— doesn’t Bakugou have his own car?”
“Oh yeah!” Kirishima’s words became incomprehensible as his voice grew fainter. A moment later, his voice is as clear as before. It’s clear he’s talking to someone else. “Alright, don’t wait up for us! We’re coming with Bakubro’s ride, just text us the address!”
“Alright,” Iida sighs thankfully. The field trip isn’t ruined. Yet.
With that in mind, Iida walked inside the bus as the last person to get on. He nodded at the driver and the bus picked up speed. Iida sat next to Uraraka, who bombarded him with questions about Deku and the other two boys not present.
Iida felt his heart skipping another beat at the laughter from Uraraka after she learned the reason. He remembered to text Kirishima the address, which he took as an excuse to hide his blushing face from Uraraka.
“You wanted me to come on this dumb-as-fuck camping trip,” Bakugou continues to rant behind the wheel angrily, his face contorted in a permanent scowl, “and yet you forgot to wake me up, and I was supposed to wake fucking Deku up but I didn’t because you didn’t wake me up! And you haven’t even fucking packed your shit yet! What the fuck! Now we’re late, so we gotta take my damn car to that shitty site and I just--”
Bakugou paused briefly when he heard Izuku snorting.
“WHAT ARE YOU LAUGHING AT, DUMB DEKU!?!”
“N-nothing, K-Kachan!” Izuku struggled to keep his giggle back. Next to him, Kirishima is also trying desperately to hold back his laughter.
Bakugou seemed to calm down and sharply turned back to the front. He growled out in a much softer voice, “Whatever. This better be worth it.”
“Oh, it will, Kacchan!” Izuku brightened up even more, somehow, as he perked up in excitement. “There are so many fun things, and we’ll all play games, and then scary ghost stories with marshmallows, and sleeping in tents, and—“
As Izuku continues to ramble on about camping, Kirishima catches a fond smile gracing Bakugou’s face. His red eyes widened as he began to realize… Kirishima turned around and smiled at Izuku.
“Yo, Dori, we’re gonna play some football, you should totally join!” Kirishima gave Izuku thumbs up with a bright grin.
“Dori?” Bakugou repeats with something in his voice no one could quite figure out. He glared at Kirishima.
Izuku pondered about it before shaking his head with a sheepish smile. “Sorry, Kiri, I’m not that good with football. I don’t even know the rules or anything,”
Kirishima glanced around Bakugou just in time to see his eyes twitch.
“Kiri?” Bakugou repeated again, incredulously. “What’s with the dumb nicknames?”
Kirishima smirked devilishly, as if he had a prank in mind. “You have Kacchan don’t you?”
Bakugou sputtered for a minute or two straight, his already red face turning redder-from anger or being flustered, you’ll never know (it’s being flustered). “Shut up! Don’t call me that, Shitty Hair, or you’ll be dead, I swear!”
“But you let Dori call you that,” Kirishima protested unwisely, not at all aware of the fury he’s about to invoke.
Izuku, luckily, has about two (2) more brain cells than Kirishima’s zero (0) amount, and thus he knew that Bakugou is about to get really angery.
Looking for a diversion, Izuku said hurriedly, “If you don’t like me calling you that, I can always call you Bakugou.”
The car filled with absolutely quiet, awkward, stiff, tense, empty silence.
Kirishima looked at Bakugou, waiting for the explosive boy to either explode or cry (or maybe both); while Bakugou stared stiffly ahead, looking like a statue made by a drunk sculptor on a Tuesday night before exams week for his least favorite class which he took sheerly due to how mad cute the professor is.
Obliviously, Izuku sat in the back, testing out the seemingly foreign word softly. “Bakugou. I haven’t said that in a while… Bakugou, Bakugou, Bakugou. Huh… Ba-ku-gou. Bakugou.”
The car came to a screeching halt, causing Kirishima and Izuku to pause and look up while launching forward, protected only by their seatbelts. That’s why you use your seatbelts, kids. #Safetyfirst. #Drunkdrivingaintworthit. #geesedontdeserverights.
“Oh, we’re here!” Izuku chirped cutely, as if he isn’t the reason Bakugou cries at the kitchen table at explicitly 3:47 AM while eating, yes eating, tomato soup that’s probably expired because it was bought weeks ago by Iida to endorse healthy habits but no one in Class 1A likes being healthy except the nerds like Todoroki. Cough cough.
“Hell yeah!” Kirishima whooped, as if he isn’t the reason Bakugou tripped on a pebble and cursed at it for 5 minutes straight but the reason he tripped was because he imagined an imaginary scenario where imaginary-Kirishima did something stupidly imaginary and thus Bakugou had to yell at imaginary-Kirishima in his head.
Bakugou wants to 1) die and 2) strangle the author for exposing his deep secrets. Also, 3) finish knitting that damn sweater for his mother but it’s taking more time due to the fact that knitting is for nerds and Bakugou sure as hell ain’t one (he is a nerd, he just sucks at knitting).
“Get out!” Bakugou barked at the two.
Kirishima only laughed and Izuku joined him.
“Now,” Kirishima said excitedly, “it’s time to camp like a man!”
He confidently took a step out of the car, looking at the camera dramatically, posing like the main character from an anime that’s about to roll in end credits... or something.
Behind him, Izuku tried to look at whatever Kirishima’s looking at and Bakugou smacked his head on the hood of his car.
“What does that even mean? H-how do you camp unmanly?” Izuku wonders, tilting his head. He jolted when he heard Bakugou hit the car’s hood once more, except this time much louder. “K-Kacchan, are you okay?”
“‘M fahm, Deckoo,” Bakugou muttered, his face still smooshed against the metal. “Hmda%fljdkla;;s;jka’...”
With that, Izuku grabbed his suitcase while wondering how the heck Bakugou managed to say the three semicolons, the percent symbol, and one apostrophe out loud. He decided not to question it because he’s pretty sure he actually heard Kaminari say 🅱️ out loud.
Yay, time for camp! Izuku stepped forward and immediately tripped on his face, much to his embarrassment and Bakugou’s merit.
So maybe the kids of Class 1A have no idea how to camp properly like normal people. Sure, they looked up normal camping things and took notes on what to do, and Iida wrote a five-page essay/to-do list of camp activities. But they still don’t know how to camp. They’ve never camped before except maybe the nerds, during childhood and with the help of more experienced campers. Here, they’re all on their own. Not even Aizawa is there to yell at them.
Iida instructed the tents, all ten of them, to be put up in a spiral-motion around the fire. At least it’s aesthetically pleasing to look back on.
Then they decided who’s sharing who’s tent. Everyone rejected Iida’s preplanned ideas and picked their own partners, to his dismay. There are twenty students and ten tents, meaning everyone would share a partner.
“Yaomomo, want to, uh, room with me?” Jirou asked the vice president, a small blush forming. She scowled and whacked Karminari when he waggled his eyebrows suggestively.
Obliviously, Yaoyorozu agreed with a smile.
“Kero, want to share tents with me, Tokoyami?” Tsysu turned to Tokoyami expectantly.
Tokoyami blinked in surprise. “Me? Ah, sure.” He and Tsysu collectively ignored Iida, who screeched about the opposite genders sharing a tent.
“Iida-Kun, with all due respect, most of us are gay.” Kirishima told him calmly, which only made Iida panic more while other students laughed.
“Yo, bro, come with me!” Kaminari finger-gunned Sero.
“Brooo!” Sero finger-gunned back.
“Brooo!” Kaminari finger-gunned back--and got punched by Bakugou before Sero could repeat the idiotic loop.
Bakugou scowled at the annoying extras. He looked around for someone suitable, but everyone is just so goddamn annoying. Kirishima would be the only one he wouldn’t mind, but the damn bastard is rooming with Ashido (which encouraged Ojiro and Hagakure to room together, to the horror of Iida). That leaves Bakugou alone and very bitter.
“H-hey, g-girls, ditch your friends and room with me! You won’t regret it!” Mineta drooled at them, making grabby-hands at them. A purple perverted aura surrounds him and the author has no choice but to censor his thoughts, because they’re 18+ and she is only 14 years old.
“Ewww, Iida, please help us!!” Ashido and Hagakure both wailed, and the class president came to their rescue by deciding Mineta should sleep alone, to his dismay but everyone’s joy. That would mean one tent would hold three people--which people eagerly changed their plans to.
Bakugou looked around harder, his fingers starting to spark. This is so stupid… and also reminded Bakugou about how lonely he is. Tch, whatever, it’s not like he needs friends anyway. Shitty Hair is just an annoying parasite.
“Kacchan, we should room together!” Deku appeared next to him, smiling brightly and hopefully.
Bakugou did not hesitate, he never hesitates, he just happens to be… uh… weighing the pros and cons of rooming (tenting?) with Deku. With no other tolerable extra, it seems Bakugou has to share with Deku. How stupid.
When Bakugou took too long, Deku’s beautiful smile fell, which made Bakugou feel like he just stabbed a marshmallow pet-thing-being..or something like that. “It’s fine if you don’t want to, I can always go with Todo--”
“NO, IT’S FINE, SHITTY NERD!” Bakugou blurted before Icyhot’s name could even be uttered. Gosh, he hates that bastard.
Deku blinked. “Huh? What do you mean?”
“I said...Sure, we can room, whatever.” Bakugou turned to the sides, to avoid Deku’s eyes. And also so the nerd wouldn’t see his blush--because the nerd is stupid.
After all that, they settled their stuff, they got the marshmallows out, set up their portable chairs, and they all huddled around the non-lit fire circle as they awkwardly stared at each other, plants and trees, or the birds. They would’ve done something instead of standing around.
Except they still don’t know what to do first.
Here they are, all twenty of them, staring awkwardly at each other as they wait for one person to lead them towards camping fun, in the middle of the woods where mosquitoes and birds are looking for mates to scream at.
Kaminari slapped his hand and groaned when he realized a mosquito bit him. “Thot!” He screamed at the dead body, but looked like a crackhead to the surrounding people who didn’t know about the mosquito. They respectfully ignored him.
“So...why don’t we play football?” Kirishima suggested.
“No.” The other nineteen kids said immediately.
*sad Kirishima noises*
“We can… go snorking!” Todoroki proposes seriously, holding a clenched fist for extra emphasis as he looks on to the setting horizon.
Everyone stared at him and his determined expression, varying stages of concern and judgment.
“You mean snorkeling, Todoroki?” Tsysu tilts her head, raising her eyebrows cutely and also unimpressed.
In reply, Todoroki solemnly stared at the ground with an expression of a 102-year-old person who has seen many unspeakable terrors, like crocs gradually becoming more famous. “Oh.” He uttered in a tiny, tiny voice. “Snorkeling... That’s what it’s called, huh?”
“We’re in the middle of the woods, dumbass.” Bakugou snorts. He shoved his hands in his pockets in a totally un-insecure manner. “Where do you think we can just casually go snorkeling?”
“Shut up, easy-bake-oven.”
“HAH?! THE FUCK YOU JUST CALL ME, ICYHOT BASTARD?!” Bakugou screeched, after a moment of pure confusion.
Bakugou stepped towards the two-toned boy, but the giggling snorts of Izuku stopped him.
“Hah?” He dragged out, turning to Izuku with a ferocious glare. “You’re laughing at me now? Die, stupid Deku!”
“Come on, Bakubro, it’s time for camping, not releasing your sexual tensions here. Do that at night time or something,” Kaminari sighed, then immediately hid behind Yaoyorozu, grinning too widely for someone about to die.
With the death of all his brain cells and functioning areas of his brain, Bakugou died right where he stood. Fucking K.O’d his dumbass. Bye, bitch, you and your stupid screaming tantrums won’t be missed.
In the next few hours, everyone split up and did their own things. Some played football with Kirishima, others hiked and explored the woods, others dug holes for absolutely no reasons, and still, some sparred each other like stupid teenagers who don’t know how to camp.
Bakugou, after training himself in a secluded area, was sitting on a log at the center of the tents, watching the small flame and feeding it ever so often. It’s peaceful. He had pushed himself hard at practice, so the rest is more than accepted.
Bakugou felt someone sit next to him.
“Long day, huh Kacchan?”
Oh, it’s fucking Deku.
Bakugou grunted in reply, too tired to articulate a single “Yes, Deku, today was long but it was worth it because I get to see you smile more often and more freely and honestly that’s so fucking adorable, die.” or even a “Die stupid Deku.” and that just shows how tired he is.
“I can’t wait until it’s darker--that’s when the actual camping starts.” Deku continued happily. “We get to tell scary stories, roast marshies, make s’mores, and so much more! It’ll be so awesome! And best of all, all my friends are here and they’ll all be so happy! Isn’t that wonderful?”
Bakugou was only half-listening, but he smiled fondly at the excited puppy sitting next to him. Of course the nerd would be happy about seeing his friends happy. That’s just the type of amazing saint he is.
“Kacchan, have you ever gone camping before?” Deku asks, his eyes on the flames.
“...Not really.”
“Really?!” Deku exclaimed, surprise clear in his face. “You’ve never went, ever? Oh, then this must be your first time, huh?”
...Somehow it feels weird hearing Deku say that. “Yes, stupid nerd.”
Deku grinned. “Wait here, I’ll be back, Kacchan!”
Bakugou’s eyes followed Deku’s form into their shared tent. When the nerd came back a minute later, he had a bag of jumbo-sized marshmallows in his hands, graham crackers, large chocolate bars, and an All Might plush doll the size of a regular teddy bear.
Under Bakugou’s questioning gaze, a sweet scarlet-colored Deku’s cheeks. “Have you tried s’mores?”
Bakugou shook his head.
“Great!” Deku beamed. He opened the marshmallows and stabbed it with a stick.
“H-hey, you damn nerd!” Bakugou sputtered. “That’s dirty and infested with bacteria, stupid nerd!”
“Oh, don’t worry, Kacchan. It’s safe and clean, we cleaned roasting sticks earlier!” Deku explained with a smile. “But thanks for looking out, Kacchan!”
“Tch..” Bakugou watched Deku expertly stick the marshmallows in the sticks. He grabbed the offered stick and stared at it.
“You stick them into the fire to roast them,” Deku explained as he did it, “but be careful not to burn them! You also turn them like this, to make sure all the sides are golden and toasty.”
Bakugou followed suit and the two spent the blissful silence roasting their marshmallows.
“And when we’re done, they should end up like this!” Deku held up his stick, showing off a golden-brown marshmallow with black, burned sides that were slightly smoking.
Bakugou held up his own, showing off a perfectly crisp and unburned marshmallow. He smirked when Deku gawked at the perfect marshmallow.
“Woah, Kacchan, you’re always so amazing and effortlessly talented, of course you would roast a perfect marshmallow!”
The praise made Bakugou feel something stupid, like a child who got told something good by their favorite teacher except they also have a crush on their teacher and thinks about marrying said teacher one day, oblivious to the obvious age difference and the levels of illegal their pretend relationship is.
“Then you would break apart these crackers, and place your marshmallow between them! Like a sandwich!” Deku continued his explanation, showing Bakugou his sloppy s’mores. “After that, you grab some chocolate and place it between, and ta-da! A beautiful, delicious camp-classic treat!”
Bakugou followed the instructions with a fond smirk, and held up his own s’mores, which was made perfectly, as if the maker were some sort of s’mores professional.
“Woah, Kacchan, you’re so incredible!”
‘Fucking nerd,’ Bakugou smirked, ‘I actually camped several times… but I’m pretending to be a dumb add just so you can praise me more, like right now! Ha, in your face, stupid nerd!’
“Heh, of course I am, nerd.” Bakugou said out loud, his tone not a bit less smug than his inner thoughts. His eyes landed on the All Might plush. “Is All Might part of this s’mores thing?”
Deku blinked, then a look of understanding dawned on him when he glanced at the All Might toy. “Oh, no, he’s not. I… I just wanted to cuddle with some...thing. The fire’s warm and peaceful, and it’s turning dark soon. I’m here in shorts and a shirt, so it’s kinda...uh, how do I say… uninviting and scary? Yeah. So. All Might is here to protect me.”
Something bloomed in Bakugou’s chest. ‘This nerd...God, I fucking lo--’
“If you want someone to protect you, I can.”
...Huh?
“A-ah, Todoroki!” Deku blinked, a blush spreading across his cheeks, as he glanced at the half-half boy who joined them.
Todoroki gave Deku a small, fond smile which Bakugou does not like at all. He sat next to Deku, noticeably shifting closer to the boy, and his fireside glowed.
“Oh!” Deku’s eyes sparkled as he shifted towards Todoroki, basking in the warmth. “You’re so… so cozy and warm, Todoroki!”
Bakugou growled, not liking the sight of that half-bastard cuddling up with his Deku. He stuffed the s’mores, sugary and not good for his health at all, down his throat, and glared at the fire.
“You’re pretty hot too, Izuku.”
Bakugou coughed loudly. He pounded his fist in his chest, over and over again, trying to stop choking.
Deku screamed and tried to help, concerned clear in his expression, as he panicky placed his scarred hands on Bakugou. Meanwhile, Todorki watched calmly and innocently, wondering what’s going on and why Bakugou’s choking, without a care in the world.
The rest of the class, who were coming from their own activities, all stopped chattering as they took in the scene before them.
Bakugou is choking on something, Deku is trying to help, and Todorki is just nonchalantly watching the two boys with mild interest. What a fucking picture.
As Iida freaks out, the rest of the class just laughs, knowing they’ll be killed by Bakugou later on for laughing at him.
“Good night, Kacchan!” Deku chirped, somehow still sounding incredibly happy despite it being very late (9:30 PM, Bakugou usually sleeps an hour and a half before) and him being tried.
“Yeah, whatever.” Bakugou grumpily said. He gestures towards Deku’s large duffle bag. “Get your sleeping bag and hurry up...turn off the lantern too.”
Deku gave him a tired smile and lazy thumbs up.
Bakugou slipped inside his warm but unnecessarily big sleeping bag. Sleepiness pulled him, but the lantern’s light was too bright for him to fall asleep. Plus, he could hear Deku rummaging through his duffle bag to pull out his sleeping bag.
The rummaging continued faster and louder. Bakugou peeked open an eye and glared at Deku’s form.
Deku’s back muscles are visible through his plain white shirt, as they shift with Deku’s movements. Bakugou can’t help but be a thirsty ass hoe, slightly drooling at the sight. Okay, maybe Bakugou admires some muscles. So what? Everyone does, regardless of sexuality.
“Oi, Deku.” Bakugou mumbled out loud before his thoughts wander. “Hurry up.”
“O-oh, s-sorry, Kacchan!” Deku yelped quietly. He hurried his search. “I’m--it’s just I’m having a hard time navigating through all this! I-I’ll hurry up!”
“Tch…” Bakugou closed his eyes again.
After another painful minute, Deku is still not asleep.
“Deku?” Bakugou growled after he counted still another minute. When he received no answer, Bakugou sat up with a grumpy pout. “Deku!”
To his surprise, Deku is nervously looking at a pile of All Might themed monstrosity before him. He must have spilled the contents of his duffle bag.
“Kacchan,” Deku’s voice was a small, but clearly frightened whisper, “Kacchan, I think I forgot it.”
It took a moment for Bakugou to make the connections--hey, it’s late, of course he’d be tired and laggy!
“Hah?! What do you mean, ‘forgot’ ?! How can you be so stupid, to forget a fucking sleeping bag on a camping trip?!” Bakugou yelled at the utterly stupid nerd.
“I-I’m sorry Kacchan!” Deku’s already big eyes began to widen and tremble.
Shit…
“I-I think I accidentally forgot to repack, w-when, uh, earlier, I-I… unpacked and-and--”
“Fuck!” Bakugou cursed aloud. He made the nerd cry. His anger towards himself only rose when Deku flinched back. The sight of Deku flinching, because of Bakugou, hurt more than he cares to admit. “Not you, Deku. I--shit, sorry for yelling at you. You must be distressed. I, uh, shit…”
Deku sniffled, wiping away the fat rolls of tears slowly.
“Sleep with me,” Bakugou blurted, like the idiot which he can admit not so proudly he is.
Deku stared at him.
“I didn’t mean it like that, shitty nerd!” Bakugou spluttered. “I meant--fuck, my sleeping bag has more than enough room. I don’t want you sleeping in the cold, and I sure as fuck am not giving you my sleeping bag… so… share. We’re gonna share.”
“O-oh, thanks, Kacchan. B-but I don’t know… I think my All Might stuffies might be warm enough to sleep with…” Deku tried to politely decline.
Bakugou scowled. “Shut up, I insist, damn nerd. You can bring your dumb dolls with you. There’s space.”
“A-are you sure?” Deku asked, still hesitant.
“Yes, nerd.” Bakugou snapped. “Your dolls aren’t big enough to be your blanket. So. Fucking join me.”
Another pause, full of hesitance and awkwardness. Bakugou was almost convinced he made a fool of himself and is therefore the dumbest bitch alive--and then Deku gave him a grateful smile.
This smile isn’t large and shining as his other smiles--but it was just as breathtaking. Soft, fond, full of what looks like love. Bakugou's breath hitched.
“Kacchan…” Deku began, and Bakugou could hear the tears coming again.
“Hurry up, I’m tired,” Bakugou pretends to be mad, averting his eyes because damn it, Deku’s eyes are fucking beautifully shiny with tears.
“Thank you so much, Kacchan, you’re the best!” Deku beamed. He grabbed a small All Might plushy, dressed up in All Might’s Golden Age costume, which Bakugou notes with a smirk.
“Yeah, yeah, whatever.”
The lantern is snuffed out and Bakugou’s vision turns black.
Bakugou stilled, waiting for Deku’s body to join him. He heard shuffling, coming closer and closer, and then felt the sleeping bag shift. Deku’s very warm body pressed next to his own. While Bakugou sleeps on his back, Deku is turned to the side in an almost fetal position--as fetal as the suddenly tighter sleeping bag allows.
Okay, okay, two things.
One, Bakugou’s sleeping bag was pretty big for a single person. However, for two people, it’s snug as shit. Not necessarily tight and uncomfortable. No, it feels like a fucking hug. Deku’s body is pressed -pressed against Bakugou’s body.
Two, he can feel Deku’s muscles and--oh, Deku’s ass looks great but it feels greater pressed against Bakugou’s sides. Deku’s body is warm. It feels like drinking hot chocolate in the winter, while adorning a comfortable, and large, woolen sweater, knee-high wool socks, and nothing else. Oh yeah, and underwear but you know what I—Bakugou— meant.
Deku let out a soft, comfortable sigh. His ass wiggled at Bakugou’s sides as Deku shifted around in an attempt to find a good sleeping position.
Holy fucking sweet mother of All Might. Bakugou’s gay ass brain shuts down as his soul fucking zoomed out his body. It took all his fucking self-control not to accidentally explode--literally, Bakugou is sweating way too much for someone with an exploding-sweat quirk.
‘Deku’s ass is on me, Deku’s ass is on me, Deku’s sweet ass is fucking on me,--’ Bakugou’s face felt almost as hot as the situation feels.
It took Deku about five minutes to fall asleep. Deku went out with a “Good night, Kacchan.” whispered quietly and he’s out like a candle.
On the other hand, Bakugou is still gay-panicking about Deku’s ass. Yes, he is a very dumb bitch, but his crush’s ass is literally on him, don’t fucking judge him. And Deku’s ass feels very great, thank you very much. Not to sound perverted or anything.
Bakugou wants to punch himself. His right arm is free, but his left arm somehow wound up on Deku’s soft curls and is weaving through them softly. Holy shit it feels so good.
Deku’s breathing is cute--fuck, what’s not cute about the stupid nerd?
Bakugou feels like a huge, disgusting, undeserving-of-love creeper. Who gets excited about some dumb nerd breathing softly, like some adorable kitten?
Deku shifted again, and slowly turned around, facing Bakugou’s currently panicking ass.
‘Shit, he’s close!’
Before Bakugou could mourn the loss of feeling Deku’s ass pressed against him or celebrate facing the nerd, Deku moved again. Deku, still dead asleep, moved closer. His head moved to the side, then forward, then back, then it finally settled on Bakugou’s shoulder.
‘Shit, he’s fucking cuddling me!’
Childhood memories flashed back. Bakugou remembered having sleepovers with Deku, and how the nerd always got scared of sleeping by himself. He remembered that the two boys would cuddle together innocently, with Bakugou being the protector (big spoon) protecting his nerd (the little spoon).
Deku nuzzled Bakugou’s shoulders. His hands wound around Bakugou’s stomach and practically hugged the panicking idiot. Bakugou caught himself from tightening his grip on Deku’s hair.
‘Shit, he’s hugging me! What the fuck do I do?!?’
It feels……. Okay, stupid reader, listen up. Bakugou is currently freaking the fuck out, yes, who wouldn’t? But it also feels good--and not in a weird way! Cuddling up with Deku, when their rocky relationship is beginning to mend after years of Bakugou being an idiot… it feels nice.
Bakugou feels as if he has a chance. Not with the nerd, as in date necessarily. He feels as if he has the chance of fixing his mess, of rebuilding that great bond they once had. To be friends again; not lovers, but friends.
Bakugou’s stiff body relaxed. It’s just like childhood. Sweet and innocent. Oblivious. Loving.
He hesitantly turned to Deku’s side. Bakugou couldn’t help but smile fondly. He can’t tell what Deku looks like, not in this darkness. But he knows the nerd is probably drooling, his mouth is probably slightly open, and he must’ve looked peaceful and beautiful as always.
“Tch… I love you nerd.” Bakugou whispered quietly. One hand buried in Deku’s soft curls, the other hesitantly but securely holding Deku’s wonderful hips.
Bakugou must’ve been deep, deep in this dumb crush for Deku, because his dumb and gay brain made up Deku murmuring back quietly, “I love you too, Kacchan.”
‘Stupid brain...don’t make it sound so realistic!’ Bakugou's eyes lowered. ‘Otherwise… I’m getting hopeful. Tch!’
His eyes closed, Bakugou slipped into the dream world, wondering, ‘Is… is this longing? ....Love?’
Bakugou woke up to faint clicking noises and muffled laughter. He opened an eye groggily and his vision was immediately engulfed in green. Bakugou realized with a start that it’s Deku’s hair.
‘Huh?’
Bakugou moved to rub his eyes but felt his hands holding something warm and comfortable. He peeked down and blushed heavily. He’s practically hugging Deku--and the nerd is hugging him back.
Their legs are intertwined. They’re facing each other, hugging each other, they’re fucking cuddling together!
‘WHAT THE FUCK HOW-?!’
Bakugou began to freak out mildly, but dare not move. As nerve-wracking as this is, it also feels nice. Their bodies feel as if they’re made for each other, seeing how they fit together so perfectly. Deku’s body is warm. The snugness of the sleeping bag only makes it more comfortable.
Sighing, Bakugou buried his nose in Deku’s hair. Deku’s hair tickled his nose and he moved his head slightly, justling Deku.
Bakugou’s grip on Deku tightened.
Bakugou was about to slip back into a wonderful sleep, in the arms of the boy he loves, but then his ears twitched when they picked up an annoying sound. He lifted his head and felt frozen from shock, and embarrassment, to see the tent opening zipped up.
Anger rose when he saw the shit-eating grins of Kirishima, Ashido, Kaminari, and Sero. The four idiots had their phones out, and it dawned on Bakugou that the clicking noises from earlier were pictures being taken.
Bakugou looked between the peaceful nerd before him, then at the idiotic group at the opening, then back at Deku. He can’t decide whether to get up and yell at the idiots, or to stay here with Deku and endure the teasing later.
Deku’s grip tightened noticeably.
‘Fuck I can’t leave him…’
Bakugou glared at the four morons. He lifted an arm, which Deku whined at the loss, and sparks flew off his fingers.
“Get out or die.” Bakugou lowly warned, the sparks becoming bigger. His facial expression must’ve been really scary, because the four squeaked and scrambled away like chickens.
Bakugou huffed. Good.
“Kacchan, you didn’t have to do that…”
“They were annoy--” Bakugou replied automatically and then paused, his brain slowly catching up. He glanced down at Deku and nearly died when Deku’s eyes were wide open. “Eh?! You’re awake?!”
Deku gave him a smile and nodded.
“I-uh--wha… then,” Bakugou has no fucking clue what to say or do. He took his hands from Deku’s hips, which Deku pouted to.
“C’mon, Kacchan,” Deku whispered invitingly. “Let’s stay here together. For a few more minutes. Please?”
“I--...” Bakugou can’t fucking believe Deku said that. He also can’t believe, out of the two present, he’s the one blushing like an idiot. “...okay, nerd…”
Deku gave him a smile that made his heart flutter. Deku nuzzled in Bakugou’s neck and pressed a soft kiss on the soft skin.
“Were you also awake last night?” Bakugou asked almost shyly. “When...when I said, you know…”
When Deku didn’t reply, Bakugou almost sighed in relief.
“Yeah…” Deku finally admitted.
Bakugou wants to fucking die from alcohol poisoning due to drinking an unhealthy amount of alcohol to ease the embarrassment that is himself.
Deku looked up shyly, and the sight squeezed Bakugou’s heart. “I meant it though...”
Bakugou’s eyes widened. Then they lowered, incredibly fond of Deku, and he smirked into Deku’s hair. Nevermind his heart, currently running (beating?) a marathon.
“You’re so fucking cute.”
“E-eh, Kacchan?!” Deku blinked adorably.
“You are a cute shithead,” Bakugou repeated.
Deku giggled. “Aww, thanks, Kacchan!”
The two stayed inside the sleeping bag together, cuddling more confidently. Their hands wandered shyly and conversations flowed lazily. It felt perfect.
And after three long days of camping in the woods together, class 1A finally went home. As everyone packed their belongings, Bakugou pulled the Bakusquad aside with an angry but calm expression on his face.
‘Yup… we’re goners!’ The Bakusquad collectively gulped. After all, they took pictures of Bakugou and Deku cuddling every morning, random pictures of the two doing random things, and the kiss they shared at the lake in the middle of the night after Bakugou finally grew the balls to ask Deku out. All the time, they were caught by the two lovebirds.
“...Send me those pictures if you don’t want to die.”
Kaminari blinked, the entire squad dropped their jaws. They were not expecting that.
“Nani the fuck?” Kaminari spoke up at last. He cowered back when Bakugou glared at him full force, and goddamn it, that glare is scary as fuck.
“If you idiots don’t wanna die,” Bakugou growled, “consider this your… payment.”
And that’s how Bakugou ended up with 500+ pictures of him and Deku doing adorable couple shit. After shoo-ing away the others, Bakugou turned to Kirishima with a small blush on his face, at the mere thought of what he’s about to say.
“Go on the bus. Deku and I are coming back in my car, alone.” Bakugou told him, not meeting Kirishima’s eyes.
Kirishima smirked a knowing smile and waggled his eyebrows. “Alright, use protection, kiddos!”
Kirishima didn’t harden in time for Bakugou to smack his head hard. “We’re fucking sixteen, don’t say such disgusting things! Fucking Shitty Hair!”
Kirishima laughed and waved goodbye, going to the bus.
Bakugou rolled his eyes and made his way to his car. His anger immediately vanquished when his eyes landed on Deku, sitting patiently by himself with the cutest smile ever.
“Ready, Deku?”
“Yeah,” Deku blinked. “Hey, where’s Kiri?”
Bakugou’s eyes twitched at the nickname. “He’s with Alien Eyes. On the bus. So...not with us.”
‘I am such a gay fucking disaster; I’m gonna die.’
“Oh!” Deku said obliviously. “That’s so cute!”
Bakugou pouted behind the wheel.
Deku laughed, which made Bakugou smile against his will. He really likes his boyfriend’s laugh, okay? “You’re really cute too, Kacchan!”
Bakugou almost crashed the fucking car, despite the road being empty, and the only vehicle being the bus, miles away.
‘Yup, I’m a goner for this adorable little shit.’
Bakugou couldn’t help the fond smile that graced his features though. After all, who can stay mad at Deku when he’s at his best— chattering a million miles an hour, talking animatedly about his day, with sparkles in his eyes as a huge smile graced his adorably freckled face.
Bakugou’s heart feels like Deku is personally squeezing it. ‘Is this… love?’
Bakugou looked at Deku one last time. He smiled bigger when Deku noticed and beamed back.
‘Fuck yeah.’
