Actions

Work Header

Shane & Ilya Do Costco

Summary:

Two men, one warehouse, and so, so many bargains to be had.

Short, silly slices of life written as a text flash fic.

Notes:

Y'all, I have fallen HARD down the Heated Rivalry rabbithole and I can't (won't) get up.

This is pure silliness prompted by a Reddit post. Shoutout to u/pagelines on Reddit for the excellent prompt.

I've only watched the TV series, not read the books. Hayden's only in here because of so many hilarious fanfics I've read this week with Sassy!Ilya dragging him for even breathing. It's set in some future when they're living together, somehow.

If anyone would like to work with me on somehow making this a proper text exchange fic through a workskin, feel free to say hi. Even with tutorials on here I'm too scared of coding.

(See the end of the work for more notes.)

Chapter 1

Notes:

(See the end of the chapter for notes.)

Chapter Text

Ilya: Shane. 

Ilya: Beloved. 

Ilya: Why do you torture me? 

Ilya: I am good husband. 

Ilya:This morning I give you blowjob, make you breakfast

Ilya: even terrible smoothie that smells of grass. And you do this?

 

Shane: The house doesn't magically produce everything we need Ilya. We're out of almost everything.

 

Ilya: That is why God invented Amazon.

 

Shane: I'm not spending ten times the money for half the amount just because it's delivered.

 

Ilya: Why not? You are poor, Hollander? 

Ilya: You don't make enough money for delivery because you are only second best hockey player in the league?

 

Shane: My contract says I'm worth more than you, Rozanov.

Shane: But I don't want strangers coming to the house. 

 

Ilya: Now you have standards? Where were standards last week when you let Pike invade my living room?

 

Shane: Your living room?

 

Ilya: Our living room. Contaminated by terrible hockey player still.

 

Shane: Hayden is not a bad hockey player!

 

Ilya: Yes, he is. He does not score goals like you, or make nice passes like you, and he is so slow. So. Very bad at hockey.

 

Shane: Ilya.

 

Ilya: Also bad at birth control.

 

Shane: Ilya! 

 

Ilya: What? I speak only truth.

 

Shane: Ilya. Stop distracting me.

 

Ilya: Distract from what? Is very important conversation with you, Shane. 

Ilya: Need to check for brain damage since you insist Pike is good hockey player.

 

Shane: We still need to go shopping.

 

Ilya: No.

 

Shane: We've run out of not just food, but toilet paper, Ilya. I don't care what you say, we need to go. I can’t live like this.

 

Ilya: Is fine, can use Montreal team sheet. Is all it is good for.

 

Shane: ...

 

Ilya: I see smile, ha!

 

Shane: No comment. Shopping, now. Do you want to starve?

 

Ilya: Impossible. Always my husband gives me nice juicy rump steak to eat ;)

Ilya: ...long time since breakfast. 

Ilya: Need snack now or will faint from hunger.

 

Shane: So you don't want more of the oreshki my mom had last week?

Shane: The ones you nearly threw up again after devouring the whole tin in half an hour?

Shane: The ones you said would be worth jail time? 

Shane: The ones that tasted like your mom’s?

 

Ilya: Get in car, loser. We’re going shopping.

 




Ilya: I am dying.

 

Shane: It’s been 20 minutes.

 

Ilya: Yes. Call dead people, quick. 

 

Shane: Dead peo- what?

 

Ilya: Ones who collect bodies.

 

Shane: Oh, you mean a funeral director.

 

Ilya: Yes, funeral director! 

Ilya: Call quick, before body is stolen by fans. 

Ilya: Teenage girls here are watching me, like vultures on nature TV show.

Ilya: Arms are about to fall off Shane.

Ilya: Will be stolen by scary girls.

Ilya: Then how will I fuck my pretty husband???

 

Shane: I’m halfway done you big baby, and I have several tins of the oreshki. 

 

Ilya: My husband is so good to me, even if he will kill me with stupid Costco trip.

 

Shane: Did you get the paper towels?

 

Ilya: Yes.

 


 

Shane: Ilya. 

 

Ilya:

 

Shane: Ilya, come on. Put it back.

 

Ilya: Is necessary.

 

Shane: It is not necessary for us to have a 72 pound cheese wheel. Nobody needs that much cheese!

 

Ilya: If nobody needs, then why put cheese wheel on sale?

 

Shane: I - don’t know. But that still doesn’t change the fact we do not need a cheese wheel. 

 

Ilya: If I put cheese wheel back then I get hot tub instead. And big Nutella.

 

Shane: Where did you even find a hot tub? Also, no.

 

Ilya: In between sex swing and golf simulator.

Ilya: Also need these.

Ilya: Cart has plenty of space, yes?

 

Shane: Fine. 

 


 

Mom: Shane honey, Dad and I wanted to visit this weekend. Are you around today?

 

Shane: Sorry Mom, not a good time right now. 

 

Mom: Oh gosh, is everything alright? Did something happen?

 

Shane: What?

Shane: Oh 

Shane: Sorry

Shane: That’s not what I meant

Shane: Ilya discovered Costco this morning. 

Shane: We have half the store in the car now, and he wants to go back again.

Shane: I think he wants to buy the other half of the store too. 

 

Mom: I remember someone a little younger than you who also wanted everything he saw on the shelves…

 

Shane: Yes, when I was ten. 

 

Mom: Well, Ilya didn’t have Costco when he was your age, did he?

 

Shane: No, thank God. 

 

Mom: So, let him have a little fun. And pick us up a cheese wheel please, if they aren’t sold out. 

 

Shane: MOM.

 

Mom: What? It’s a steal. Ilya reminded me we have the cookout coming up. 

 

Shane: Sure Mom. 

 


 

Shane: Well played.

 

Ilya: 0:)

 

Notes:

Oreshki are one of the results when I Googled "Russian snacks". They are, apparently, walnut shaped shortbread biscuits commonly filled with dulche de leche. I picked whatever sounded sweetest because Shane would hate it the most.